Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I've tried many cheesecake recipes and this one tops them all. It is like a deli New York cheesecake. It is dense but creamy. I did not bake it in a water bath, I placed a pan of boiling water under it. I had a nice golden brown top and absolutely no cracks. (I greased the sides of my pan). This cake is not too rich! It would be great with a chocolate ganache or any topping really. I'm saving this recipe in my family recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is my go to cheesecake recipe. I have made other cheesecakes that are much more complicated and take a lot longer and I always find myself going back to this recipe. It is the best! Follow the directions exactly and you will be so pleased. When my family wants cheesecake, this is the one they are always talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
The reviewer who said the temperature was too high is correct. I just made this cheesecake and as it is cooling, enormous cracks appeared. Cracks are OK but brown edges and a dry texture is not. I am not a novice baker and should have reviewed other recipes I have made. However my son preferred a "classic" cheesecake to a flavored one and I was sucked in by the positive reviews of the classic cheesecake. I recommend baking at 300, not 350. Oh well, will dress this cheesecake up with a strawberry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Loved it! I had a bad experience the first time I tried to make a cheesecake in a springform, and because of that, haven't attempted one for a long, long time. So happy to have come across this. Simple, straight forward and oh-so-yummy! I did want something more than just a plain cheesecake, so I added eight ounces of melted (and then brought to room temp) Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate. I can't wait to play around and try some other variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckeemee13
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Simply deelish! I did change the crust from graham crackers to 50 Nilla wafers. I'm not a fan of graham and I found the vanilla wafers lighter. Something else not mentioned is the water bath, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! Next to NOT over beating the batter, I believe that a water bath aids in the cheesecake NOT cracking! I took the advice of something I read on this site and used one of those cooking bags instead of tin foil for the bath. I thought, "what a great idea! That way there is no chance of the water seeping into the cheesecake!" Worked like a charm and I'll use that again!!!! This was the most beautiful, perfect, deliciously simple cheesecake I have ever made! I brought it to a Christmas party and people actually thought it came from a bakery! (No one touched the store bought cheesecake another guest brought!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious! This was my first attempt at making cheesecake and family said it's the best they've ever had. Excellent recipe, Chantal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this recipe for Christmas dessert and was really good. Even our picky teenage nieces liked and had it again the next night. The only reason why I gave it 4 stars is because it cracked, and it seemed a bit too done on top. The cracking could have been due to over mixing or maybe because I substituted low fat cream cheese for two of the four packages. I will definitely make again and see if I have different results the next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I added juice from a small lemon and a little lemon zest. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Let me just say I have never made a cheesecake a day in my life. This receipt is rich, creamy, and absolutely delicious. I followed the instructions to the letter. I also baked it in a water bath as some have suggested. I sprayed my pan with a bakers spray that contains flour before I added my filling. I cooked my cake an hour before work and left it in the oven when until I got off. It didn't crack or dry out. I also added my flour last after everything was smooth. I mixed the floor in with a wisk by hand for about 30 seconds. I didn't want to over mix the cake. This receipt is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
WOW! Rich, creamy, outstanding cheesecake. I made this gluten free and lower-fat and got RAVE reviews from the family when I served this at Christmas dinner. My sister-in-law, a professional cook, even asked for the recipe! To accommodate my celiac husband, I substituted GF graham style crackers in the crust and used a GF all-purpose flour mix in the cake. Because I like a "darker" flavor profile, I also used brown sugar instead of white in the crust and about 3 tsp of cinnamon---this gave the crust a nice pop that my guests loved. I used neufchatel cheese, 1% milk, and fat-free sour cream, to reduce calories. Despite this, the cake came out amazingly creamy and rich, with a wonderfully decadent mouthfeel. I would never, ever have guessed that this cheesecake was either GF or lower-fat, if I hadn't made it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 4,551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States