Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
The best I've ever made...easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This cheese cake comes out perfect if you do it correctly! I used the wrong size pan the first time. I cracked very bad. Re-did it in the right size pan and it turned out perfect!! It looked professional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I found this recipe a couple of years ago and I love it, as is. It was my first attempt at making Cheesecake from scratch and it was a huge success. I switch up the crusts from time to time, but it comes out perfect each time! It's now a staple at my summertime BBQ's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I am a complete rookie when it comes to making cheesecake, in fact, i was TERRIFIED to even try making a cheesecake.i always assumed it was THE most difficult thing to do. this recipe changed my mind completely about cheesecake. i followed the recipe to T and it came out PERFECT. tastes DE-LISH!!! i did have cracks on top(doesn't bother me) but i will definitely try the suggestion from another reviewer which is not to over mix(i beat the hell out of the ingredients). TRY it! it's the easiest most spot-on recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is by far the best cheesecake I've ever had. It was perfect in every way... Creamy and rich with a great vanilla taste and not too sweet either. Even Cheesecake Factory has nothing on this one. I read some of the other reviewer's suggestions and made just a few changes. I added half a teaspoon of almond extract to the batter which gave the flavor just a little bit of something extra but no one could tell what it was. I made sure to use regular cream cheese instead of lower fat as well as light cream instead of milk. I lowered the oven temp by 10 degrees as a reviewer suggested as I didn't want the top to brown too much and it baked for the required time. My oven temp might be a little warmer than it reads on the display anyway. I put the cheesecake into a hot water bath while cooking which really helped bake it perfectly. Be sure to wrap the pan in two layers of foil so the water doesn't get into the cheesecake while baking. Lastly, I left the cheesecake in the oven, with it turned off and the door cracked open, so it would cool slowly for about an hour. Then I let it cool on the counter a few hours before refrigerating it. The result was a perfect looking and tasting dessert with no cracks at all. This cheesecake needed no topping because it was wonderful without anything added. I am throwing away any other cheesecake recipes I have and just make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alisha
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this perfect cheesecake for Easter, without doing a test-run beforehand. Thank goodness it was absolutely delicious. It was dense, but still moist and fluffy. The only variation I made, which was completely accidental, was I used too many graham crackers. I used 15 sheets, when I think each small rectangle counted as 1 cracker - oops. But I just had an extra thick crust which went up the sides of my spring-form pan. I also ended up adding a lot more butter to the crust, since I had quadruple the amount of crumbs. The addition of the flour and the lack of a water bath worried me, but I stuck with the exact instructions and I am glad I did. If you love cheesecake, make sure you try this recipe. You will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This is probably the best cheesecake I have made yet, and I am not new to cheesecake! I also don't normally like plain cheesecake, but this was to die for....serve it with fresh strawberries and watch how it disappears! I will be making this again without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I put strawberries on top and made the strawberry sauce from this site. Everybody asked me where I bought it. It was seriously amazing and looked fabulous -- this recipe obviously needs no further reviews but I couldn't help it. It deserves it. I used a water bath, left it in the oven for about 3-4 hours after baking and didn't overbeat the ingredients after the egg. I'm gluten free, so I just picked up a Midel GF graham crust, crumbled it and reformed it to my cheesecake pan. I also used GF flour. Absolute perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Love! 12 1.My 1st cheesecake EVER. I knew nothing! Cracks? Water baths? Huh? I was certain I would ruin this and not know why. 2. EASY PREP. I used a mixer for cream cheese and sugar only, wooden spoon for the rest, as suggested by someone else. (Ok so far, plenty of time to mess it up) 3. I added almond extract (I like it) 4. Used a hot water bath because I saw it in other recipes and got confused...I think this is ok 5. After an hour, oven off, I peeked and saw that cc was caramel colored and sunken in the middle. (was that ok? Who knows... optimism dropping) 6. 30 min later worried about water bath, Googled, found out that not using foil around the pan, like me, in the bath, makes crust soggy. :/ whoops -- not very optimistic 7. Immediately pulled it out of the oven, out of the water, then back in the oven. (was that bad? Maybe. Probably ruined) 8. Left it in oven overnight. 7ish hrs. (was that too long? Definitely ruined) 9. In the morning CC was flat, pulled away from sides of pan and"crackless" (apparently all good things--maybe its ok) 10. Didn't know when to take it out of the pan, waited till last minute (did I mess up the crust? The easiest part?) carefully used icing spatula to get it off the bottom of pan. NP. 11. Crust edges a little soggy, but dried up after an hour. (not bad) 12. Best cheesecake my family had ever eaten! (shucks :) ) creamy on the inside, not too sweet, delicious alone or with the blueberry glaze prepared by my daughter! I am so exited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I made this without reading any of the comments - my cream cheese was cold, and I used my mixer to blend everything together (i.e. didn't blend the extra ingredients by hand). As I made this in the evening, I didn't have 5-6 hours to leave in in the oven... so I just left it for 3 hours, then used a sharp knife to go around the edge before I put it into the fridge. It turned out perfectly! No cracking, nice texture throughout and very delicious. The only thing I would do differently is add some sugar to the crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcjewel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 4,570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States