Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I followed the directions exactly, took advice of another reviewer and never checked it cooked it for one hour turned the oven off, and waited several hours before opening the oven. Turned out beautiful and tasty. My husbands coworkers asked if I would make more for $50 each! This cheesecake is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Gunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I am in the middle of this recipe for the first time. It would really help if I would have known how many grams of graham crackers to use...were they square or rectangle? I started with 15 rectangle and felt that the crust was too dry so I added more butter and froze the remainder crust. As an America, living overseas, it really helps to know weight or measured amount of crumbs for these things. My cheesecake is in the oven now so we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I have been making it since the year of 2002 and every time it is a hit. I've baked other cheesecakes but this one is the best! The only thing I'm changing is the crust. Sometimes it's a layer of sponge cake, sometimes crushed Oreos with butter (discarding the filling). Also using 1/4 cup less sugar tastes better to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Tthe flavor was okay, but the cheesecake was very light and airy, and I couldn't taste the cream cheese like I would in a normal cheesecake. There was a huge split in the middle when I took it out to refrigerate, and just got worse when it was ready to be eaten. I followed the directions perfectly, but the texture still came out kind of disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
BEST CHEESECAKE EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alma
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Ok, I have to say I was worried beyond belief when first making this beauty. I'm not much of a baker (or cook at that) but I love to dabble and I thought "do i love cheesecake." And I am so glad I chose this recipe! Even having never made cheesecake before, this wasn't difficult at all - just long. It was torture waiting the 6+ hours for it to cool! Although it cracked along the surface (the family was too busy devouring it to care haha) and the flour clumping in the batter ruffled my feathers a bit (fixed the right quick with an electric mixer), I couldn't have been happier with the final product. Everyone in the house loved it! Next time I make this I'm definitely adding a fruit topping of some kind - that's the only thing we thought was missing from this bad boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya ter Borg
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made this exactly as per the recipe (maybe a little less flour) and it was perfect. I greased the sides thoroughly and while I wrapped it in foil for the waterbath, I didn't have a bath big enough for it so I did without and it was perfect. No cracks. Left it in the oven for about 2 hours after cooking (cooked for about an extra 25 minutes) and then refrigerated overnight. Topped with berries. My husband loved it! So rich but so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya ter Borg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Didn't change a thing. Worked out well. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a great cheesecake recipe. For those of you that had unsuccessful results, I would like to share some of my tips for making a great cheesecake.... I always make sure all of my ingredients are room temperature because it eliminates any lumps in my batter... I also always mix my ingredients with a wooden spoon by hand, never a mixer. If there is too much air in your batter, it will taste gritty. Also, don't forget to spray the sides of your pan with a baking spray to prevent the cake from sticking- this step, combined with the water bath will eliminate any cracks. Also, it never hurts to use an oven thermometer to check the accuracy of your oven temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Second time making this cake. Making it this time with cinnamon toast crunch crust (Crush 6 cups cereal and mix with 1/2 cup melted butter). I over baked the first one but it was still yummy! Hoping I do a better job this time with the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 4,585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States