Channa Masala (Chickpea Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this with pinto beans because I had them on hand. I love the way the flavors combined, especially with the ginger! I can't wait to try this with other beans! This is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
really, really good and very easy to prepare. I used ground cumin instead, adding after cooking the onions 5 minutes, and also added 8 0z. of yogurt at the end, cooking maybe 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
i was having a lazy day, looking for something easy and found that i had all the ingredients for this already. Instead of blending things, I just threw everything in the skillet together so it came out chunkier and less sauce-like. since my spices have been in the cabinet for years, i decided to try 3 tsp of cumin seeds and 3 tsp of the curry powder. I had an extra tomato I wanted to get rid of so I threw it in on top of the other 2. It looked a little dry so I added a splash of water. not exactly like you get in a restaurant, but the flavor is perfect, and this recipe was just what i needed to get a general idea of how to make the dish. i served it over orzo since rice takes forever to cook. hallelujah for quick, easy, lazy-day recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
LOVED this! I pretty much made it as the recipe calls, except I didn't have cumin seeds or fresh ginger (but I am pleased with the taste I got from the powdered substitutes). I also really like cilantro, so I at least doubled the amount. And because I had some chicken, I threw some of that in there, too. I will TOTALLY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diggindc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great taste and quick and easy to make. It's a keeper! I found that I needed to simmer (covered) for about 10-15 extra minutes to further soften the chickpeas and meld/thicken the sauce. The extra time really brought out the seasonings. Prior to that is was very tomato-y .... and not that rich tomato flavor, but a thin, fresh tomato flavor. Otherwise did everything exactly as the recipe stated. So good--just like my local Indian food buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I loved this recipe. SO easy, freezes awesome for lunch and VERY budget friendly. I've shared this with all my friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious, healthy and quick to make. Makes a nice side dish or a filling main dish. Thanks for your contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Yum!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great recipe, easy and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Excellent & easy to prepare. I like to use dried garbanzo beans, soak them overnight & boil for 1 hour. The curry powder can make a big difference. I used the House of Spices curry powder which contains coriander, red chilies, cumin, pepper, and fenugreek. Tastes better & is healthier than most restaurants! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States