Channa Masala (Chickpea Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Another hit. Used a dry pre-mix of curry spices and canned diced tomatoes. I'm convinced that the curry mix makes it. Also used tapioca flour instead of rice and 1/2 inch of ginger. Not as tomato-y as I'm used too but that'll be fixed next time with addition of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amiddl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe says. The only thing I changed was to use white flour rather than rice flour. The flavor was good, but kind of bland. I'm hoping it gets better tomorrow (as another reviewer has mentioned). Paired with garlic naan, it made for a good dinner, but I don't know that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I had to make some changes, I found it bland as written. I used the cumin seeds as stated but ended up adding cumin powder and double the curry powder. I also cooked longer so that the chick peas "absorbed" some of the flavor rather than just be "swimming" in a flavorful sauce. I had to add water (about 1/4 cup) because it was very dry. Will probably make again, with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Eh, I liked this one not so much. No one in the family really cared for it. It wasn't bad, just kinda odd and not real tasty. We love garbanzos and have made Chana before, this one just didn't have that Indian restaurant taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Excellent & easy to prepare. I like to use dried garbanzo beans, soak them overnight & boil for 1 hour. The curry powder can make a big difference. I used the House of Spices curry powder which contains coriander, red chilies, cumin, pepper, and fenugreek. Tastes better & is healthier than most restaurants! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I found this recipe lacking a lot of body. Basically it was fine, but the flavors were very flat and I couldnt get a nice robust flavor you usually find in indian food. Not sure what would have made it better? I tried adding a few spices but I still couldnt make it work. In the end it was quite edible but not something that had the family screaming for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this with pinto beans because I had them on hand. I love the way the flavors combined, especially with the ginger! I can't wait to try this with other beans! This is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great recipe, easy and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Yum!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I wasn't a huge fan of the sauce - it seemed to lack body, and I'm not partial to raw onions. I ended up sauteing the mixture for about 15 more minutes (adding some water to further cook the onions and later flour to re-thicken the sauce), upping the spice quantities, and adding a touch of mild to give the sauce more body. (I should also note that I'm living and cooking in Spain, where some conventional ingredients aren't too common. This may have influenced the recipe's success.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States