Channa Masala (Chickpea Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this dish!!! This was my first Indian dish and I enjoyed it so much I've began to cook other Indian dishes as well! So flavorful, yet simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Had this dish at an Indian restaurant in downtown DC and was determined to duplicate it. This recipe did not disappoint. It's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great, easy recipe. I added some chili powder for some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Good for a mild curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carleigh Belle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Very, very good. I am a huge fan of chickpeas, so this recipe was a must-try. My only modification to this recipe was that I added about 1 tbsp. of curry powder because I used two beastly large tomatoes and found that the curry flavour was lost in the meal. also, this recipe seems to freeze very well, so it's a great make-ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I added more curry than it called for an also added some potatoes and omited the flour and added a bit of the potato water for thickening. I served it over rice. Husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sedore

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
It was a little bland initially (I'm Indian) and I made the following revisions: added 2 tbsp garam masala, 1 tsp cumin powder (or you can add extra seeds), an additional tbsp of olive oil, and 2 thai green chillies split down the middle with seeds. It was pretty yummy after that and the flavors do develop with time as someone else noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I didn't blend the onions and tomatoes and I used canned diced tomatoes (not the juice just the tomatoes) and I skipped the flour all together. I also added a 1/2 tsp of garam masala and I skipped the cilantro. Easy, simple and quick recipe to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I didn't make the tomato paste because I like having larger bits of tomato. Came out tasting awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States