Champagne Shrimp and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was awesome! My boyfriend (who hates pasta dishes) loved this. I added fresh basil as well as scallops. I also used canned minced tomatoes and lots of garlic. Since we didn't have any shallots I just used some garlic. I bet it would be amazing as leftovers, but I won't know since my boyfriend took all the leftovers to work today. I will make this again and again! The only down side is the cost of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very, very good. I used an extra dry brut champagne, and it's still on the sweet side (which my bf and I liked but maybe others might not). Made the recipe as written, and I have the following comments: 1.) Try it once without garlic before adding the 1, 2, or 3 cloves that some have suggested. I thought the shallots added ample but subtle flavor to the rather delicate sauce. If you can't get shallots, THEN I think some finely minced sweet onion and a couple of garlic cloves would be an acceptable substitute. 2.) You don't want the shrimp to be fully cooked when you pull them out of the champagne in step 3 - they'll keep cooking as they rest, and they'll cook even more when you throw them back in the hot sauce...they don't take much! Mine were pink on the edges but not totally opaque when I took them out, and they were definitely done by the time we sat down to eat. 3.) I used fresh angel hair pasta (refrigerated section of grocery store), and we really liked the lighter, softer consistency of the pasta with the sauce. It also seemed like the fresh pasta held onto the sauce better than dried pasta might. Plus, fresh only takes about 60 seconds to cook, so it made it very easy to plate everything at once when the sauce was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Just made this for dinner and it was wonderful. Great flavor and taste! Thank you for the recipe! It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhillyard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is very similar to a recipe a friend gave me years ago for chicken (pounded thin & dredged in lightly herbed flour). Easy, delicious, and always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is an excellent recipe.....as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is a simple recipe and takes little time. Useing a white wine works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt. Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
VERY Good! I used both shrimp and scallops and I also added in fresh garlic clooves crushed while I was cooking the mushrooms. I really enjoyed this dish and my husband says a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is one of the best meals I have EVER made! My husband was SUPER impressed and is already asking me when I'm going to make it again. I used 1.5lbs of shrimp to give it some more protein. Also, I didn't have enough shallots, so I subed 3 fresh garlic cloves for my missing 1T of shallots that I lacked. All in all it was FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe is absolutely a fantastic recipe if you want an easy, yet elegant meal that tastes AWESOME! The best part is that its versatile as you can add scallops, crabmeat, clams etc. This recipes tastes like it came from a restaraunt and is good enough to save for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Our family did not enjoy this dish at all. Surprised by all the rave reviews, we followed recipe pretty closely, must just be a flavor combo we didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama n' papa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States