Champagne Shrimp and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious! I doubled this recipe - 1-1/2 lbs. penne pasta, 2 pkgs. fresh mushrooms, 2 lbs. shrimp, etc., but also used 6 plum tomatoes. I also used a bottle of Korbel brutt (3 cups). The only thing I would do differently is not add that last 1/4-1/2 cup of remaining cream. Great Flavor - loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
A great dish! Delicious. My 2 kids are super picky and they both took seconds. My only change was to substitute light cream for the heavy cream. The sauce was still very creamy. Thanks for a super dish I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Used all organic ingredients and whole grain wheat angel hair pasta. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justin and jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this recipe for company and brought it out on the plates like in a restaurant. (I sprinkled extra parmesan cheese on top). The presentation was beautiful and the dinner was delicious. My husband, as well as our guest, LOVED it and kept complimenting me on the dinner. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I served it with steamed broccoli and special cheese bread and it truly was as good as any fine restaurant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
There is just something so RIGHT about this recipe. The flavors come together effortlessly. I used 3 peeled and seeded roma tomatoes instead of 2 plum, and a whole minced scallion, which looked like more than 2 tablespoons. I used a little more cream than 1 cup, too, though I only used 1.5 cups of champagne (actually cava) as the recipe calls for. I think the main idea here is that the quantities aren't all that important if you're keeping an eye on the texture. One thing though--it took me so much longer than 30 minutes to make this, even though I bought prepeeled and deveined shrimp! I am sort of slow in the kitchen, for sure, but I don't see how anyone could make this in such a short amount of time unless everything was prechopped, preheated, etc. Don't let this scare you, though. This recipe is outrageously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was awesome! My boyfriend (who hates pasta dishes) loved this. I added fresh basil as well as scallops. I also used canned minced tomatoes and lots of garlic. Since we didn't have any shallots I just used some garlic. I bet it would be amazing as leftovers, but I won't know since my boyfriend took all the leftovers to work today. I will make this again and again! The only down side is the cost of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very, very good. I used an extra dry brut champagne, and it's still on the sweet side (which my bf and I liked but maybe others might not). Made the recipe as written, and I have the following comments: 1.) Try it once without garlic before adding the 1, 2, or 3 cloves that some have suggested. I thought the shallots added ample but subtle flavor to the rather delicate sauce. If you can't get shallots, THEN I think some finely minced sweet onion and a couple of garlic cloves would be an acceptable substitute. 2.) You don't want the shrimp to be fully cooked when you pull them out of the champagne in step 3 - they'll keep cooking as they rest, and they'll cook even more when you throw them back in the hot sauce...they don't take much! Mine were pink on the edges but not totally opaque when I took them out, and they were definitely done by the time we sat down to eat. 3.) I used fresh angel hair pasta (refrigerated section of grocery store), and we really liked the lighter, softer consistency of the pasta with the sauce. It also seemed like the fresh pasta held onto the sauce better than dried pasta might. Plus, fresh only takes about 60 seconds to cook, so it made it very easy to plate everything at once when the sauce was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Just made this for dinner and it was wonderful. Great flavor and taste! Thank you for the recipe! It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhillyard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is very similar to a recipe a friend gave me years ago for chicken (pounded thin & dredged in lightly herbed flour). Easy, delicious, and always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States