Champagne Shrimp and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this recipe for company and brought it out on the plates like in a restaurant. (I sprinkled extra parmesan cheese on top). The presentation was beautiful and the dinner was delicious. My husband, as well as our guest, LOVED it and kept complimenting me on the dinner. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I served it with steamed broccoli and special cheese bread and it truly was as good as any fine restaurant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
There is just something so RIGHT about this recipe. The flavors come together effortlessly. I used 3 peeled and seeded roma tomatoes instead of 2 plum, and a whole minced scallion, which looked like more than 2 tablespoons. I used a little more cream than 1 cup, too, though I only used 1.5 cups of champagne (actually cava) as the recipe calls for. I think the main idea here is that the quantities aren't all that important if you're keeping an eye on the texture. One thing though--it took me so much longer than 30 minutes to make this, even though I bought prepeeled and deveined shrimp! I am sort of slow in the kitchen, for sure, but I don't see how anyone could make this in such a short amount of time unless everything was prechopped, preheated, etc. Don't let this scare you, though. This recipe is outrageously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was awesome! My boyfriend (who hates pasta dishes) loved this. I added fresh basil as well as scallops. I also used canned minced tomatoes and lots of garlic. Since we didn't have any shallots I just used some garlic. I bet it would be amazing as leftovers, but I won't know since my boyfriend took all the leftovers to work today. I will make this again and again! The only down side is the cost of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very, very good. I used an extra dry brut champagne, and it's still on the sweet side (which my bf and I liked but maybe others might not). Made the recipe as written, and I have the following comments: 1.) Try it once without garlic before adding the 1, 2, or 3 cloves that some have suggested. I thought the shallots added ample but subtle flavor to the rather delicate sauce. If you can't get shallots, THEN I think some finely minced sweet onion and a couple of garlic cloves would be an acceptable substitute. 2.) You don't want the shrimp to be fully cooked when you pull them out of the champagne in step 3 - they'll keep cooking as they rest, and they'll cook even more when you throw them back in the hot sauce...they don't take much! Mine were pink on the edges but not totally opaque when I took them out, and they were definitely done by the time we sat down to eat. 3.) I used fresh angel hair pasta (refrigerated section of grocery store), and we really liked the lighter, softer consistency of the pasta with the sauce. It also seemed like the fresh pasta held onto the sauce better than dried pasta might. Plus, fresh only takes about 60 seconds to cook, so it made it very easy to plate everything at once when the sauce was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Just made this for dinner and it was wonderful. Great flavor and taste! Thank you for the recipe! It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhillyard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is very similar to a recipe a friend gave me years ago for chicken (pounded thin & dredged in lightly herbed flour). Easy, delicious, and always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is an excellent recipe.....as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is a simple recipe and takes little time. Useing a white wine works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt. Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
VERY Good! I used both shrimp and scallops and I also added in fresh garlic clooves crushed while I was cooking the mushrooms. I really enjoyed this dish and my husband says a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States