Champagne Shrimp and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this recipe last night for a special Valentine's Day dinner for my family and it was a huge hit. Our 11-year old who normally doesn't much care for mushrooms, loved them in this very simple sauce. The only changes I made were to double it for my five hearty eaters, use a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh and finely chopped minced sweet onion instead of shallots. I was going for cheaper because even without the shallots, it's a pricier (~$25 for the doubled version) recipe then our normal fair, but that is of course a steal compared to eating out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryboberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made it for Valentines...delicious! We added a little crab meat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Fantastic!! I used shrimp and scallops as well as an entire box of pasta. Canned tomatoes worked just fine. I also threw in a little emrils seasoning. It gave it a little spiciness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trinabell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I, too, made this last night for my Valentine. I like chilled shrimp but am not a big fan of it in warm pasta dishes. It didn't matter. This was fabulous! Easy to make, rave reviews but should have doubled the recipe as we all wanted more! To the woman who didn't follow the recipe...try it again and follow the recipe, you will really love it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this for my Honey last night for our Valentine dinner. This was to die for. The only thing I did different was I sauteed all of the veggies and added a clove of garlic. It was rich and flavorful and elegant for a special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Penn Yan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this for my husband for Valentine's Day. The sauce is really exceptional, thankfully based on previous reviews I made extra sauce. Keeping in mind the reviewer suggestions, adding garlic and cooking garlic, mushrooms and shallots together was a success also. My husband loved it so much he has asked me to make it gain this week only without the pasta. Since he does not care for pasta I have enough pasta left for when I make the shrimp and sauce for him. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe was really good, but I did break one of my cardinal rules. The first time I try a recipe, I try to do it to the letter, or at least as close as possible. I changed a few things on this one. I used Chardonnay instead of champagne. I didn't use shallots I used garlic and onion, and I used light cream and a little corn starch to thicken. Over all it was good but not mindblowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom O'Driscoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Super!!! Easy to make and delicious! My husband's new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was very good! Like allot of other reviewers here feel, it does taste like restaurant quality. I too, used canned, diced tomatoes vs fresh Roma's and it was excellent! For those having a problem with reducing... you MUST boil at high heat, stirring often. It will reduce nicely, but does take more than 8 min. Takes about 15 - 20 min. VERY HAPPY WITH RECIPE! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious! I doubled this recipe - 1-1/2 lbs. penne pasta, 2 pkgs. fresh mushrooms, 2 lbs. shrimp, etc., but also used 6 plum tomatoes. I also used a bottle of Korbel brutt (3 cups). The only thing I would do differently is not add that last 1/4-1/2 cup of remaining cream. Great Flavor - loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States