Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I am a professional cake decorator and I know the person who came up with this recipe. It is sugggested to use a sweet champagne such as Moscoto or I use Asti when I can't find it. The recipe is a light cake with almost an angel food cake texture. I use simple syrup to keep it moist and add some red food coloring to make it "pink champagne cake". You can also add melted chocolate to 1/3 of the batter and swirl it through the cake. Any fruit filling or curds go really well with it. You can make a Mimosa cake by filling it with orange curd and frosting it with a champagne buttercream or vanilla Italian Meringue buttercream. When making scratch cakes make sure you whip your butter and sugar until light and fluffy. On low mix your dry and wet ingredients. Do not over mix. Gently fold your egg whites in by dividing the whites into thirds. You'll have a perfect cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
559 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is an EXCELLENT white cake recipe! I used a little bit extra champagne (total of about a cup for the full recipe) because the batter seemed like it would be way too dry and thick without it, and I baked it in mini muffin tins for adorably bite-sized cupcakes to take to a buffet. They turned out to be a huge hit--not too sweet, slightly dense, not the least bit dry or crumbly, and with a subtle champagne flavor that I foiled with lime buttercream frosting (the Luscious Buttercream Frosting on this site). This recipe is definitely a keeper, and I'll absolutely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Some great recipes aren't the "quickest" or the "easiest". However, I gave this cake an overall rating of 5 stars. It is a fabulous cake if made correctly. The batter is very thick prior to folding in the stiff egg whites. It's best to lighten with the 1/3 whites as instructed, but then fold the batter into the remaining whites. Make a very firm, but delicious cake, great for decorating, or just simply sift some powdered sugar on top. I highly recommend the coconut filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a great cake. Reading the reviews the reason you got a “crumbly” cake is because you didn’t make the egg whites into stiff peaks. Bowl and beater must be clean and free of water to make the stiff peaks. Also increase the champagne to 1 cup and add 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I topped with whipped cream and fresh berries. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
So, although born and raised in Los Angeles, I live in Rome, Italy. And somehow came to this country without a measuring cup, etc. None the less, a little of this and that was actually able to make this unbelievable cake for a colleagues birthday at my Piazza Navona restaurant. I even got compliments to the extent of, "We should totally st6art serving this at the restaurant!" I thought it would be a disaster, but it was absolutely delicious! You could definately taste the champagne. I was weary of the comment below saying that it would taste like bread, so to add vanilla. I only added a few sprinles of vanilla sugar and it came out just amazingly! I highly reccomend this cake to all. This was the 1st cake I ever made, and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I found this to be more breadlike.Batter was too thick and flavor a little bland.I may try it again and add some vanilla & or almond flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I don't know what the complaints were for this cake, but I found it to be delicious! I made it for New Years with a raspberry/RazzM'Tazz filling and the whipped sweet cream cheese frosting. The champagne I used was Martini and Rossi Asti, and the result was a decadent, pound cake-like treat. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
Once adjusted to the high altitude here, this was a fairly easy cake to bake. The flavor is exquisite and made a wonderful wedding cake for my brother and his bride! It was a hit! This cake lends itself well to creative and impressive cakes and is definitely a keeper in the recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2000
This has a good flavor, but I made the mistake of slightly overbaking it (which really made it dry). This is a pretty and unusual Valentine's cake with Butter Frosting (cakerecipe.com); tint it with six drops of red food coloring and garnish with coconut and fresh raspberries. The cake layer would've been good sliced horizontally and filled with a tart jam as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
This is DEE-LITEFUL. It is light and flavourful and I could easily gain 20 pounds if my kitchen didn't get so hot while I cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States