Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I've made this recipe several times. It's simple to make, light and lovely. It is very easy to over and under-cook. For that reason, I think it should be a bundt recipe. I usually top it with a liquor flavored simple syrup for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This recipe makes a very moist delicious cake. It was way heavier than expected but it worked out fine, I made strawberry champagne jelly and strawberry champagne butter creme icing to accompany it. I had many compliments on it at my friends 25 birthday party. I made this recipe again, 8 1/2 years later, I think it is more like a pound cake than anything else. When frosted I find it offensively sweet. I think that the best combination for this cake is fresh cut strawberries, and maybe some champagne spiked whipped cream. It has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I added a very full cup of champagne and it gave the cake a great robust flavor (Korbel Brut). Defintely watch the baking time, as it is a fine balance between a doughy cake and a dry one. Also be sure to really beat the egg whites, as it gives the cake the right lift. I will definitely make this again, with strawberries sliced on top +a glaze. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Delicious ... I made this for my family, and gave leftovers to friends. They all raved. It was quite easy to make (I made mine in a spring form pan) and used canned cream cheese frosting. I also used asti spimante for the champagne. Enjoyed sipping a glass while preparing the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I don't know what the complaints were for this cake, but I found it to be delicious! I made it for New Years with a raspberry/RazzM'Tazz filling and the whipped sweet cream cheese frosting. The champagne I used was Martini and Rossi Asti, and the result was a decadent, pound cake-like treat. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This champagne cake is wonderful!! I made it last year for my Daughter's wedding, and it was moist, tasty and beautiful. It has become my husband's second favorite cake.(his Mom made one he liked better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I made this cake for an anniversary party and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Some great recipes aren't the "quickest" or the "easiest". However, I gave this cake an overall rating of 5 stars. It is a fabulous cake if made correctly. The batter is very thick prior to folding in the stiff egg whites. It's best to lighten with the 1/3 whites as instructed, but then fold the batter into the remaining whites. Make a very firm, but delicious cake, great for decorating, or just simply sift some powdered sugar on top. I highly recommend the coconut filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I found this to be more breadlike.Batter was too thick and flavor a little bland.I may try it again and add some vanilla & or almond flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
Once adjusted to the high altitude here, this was a fairly easy cake to bake. The flavor is exquisite and made a wonderful wedding cake for my brother and his bride! It was a hit! This cake lends itself well to creative and impressive cakes and is definitely a keeper in the recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States