Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I looked at all the "white cake" recipes on here and all the reviews and decided to try this one. I just happened to have a left over bottle of champagne from my New Year's Eve wedding(2007). Instead of using plain bubbly, my absolute favorite is Rosa Regale. It's a raspberry flavored champagne. I did use 1 cup of it instead of 3/4 and I use egg whites only for everything so I buy the cartons. I used 1 cup of egg whites. It didn't peak as stiffly as I wanted it to at all but this cake was MOIST. I baked it between the 350 and 325 mark for only 25 minutes. It was enough for 2 9in. cake pans. Because the champagne is a raspberry flavor, it also has a raspberry tint to it so the cake had a bit of a tint as well. My Husband loves this cake and next time I need to play with a complimenting "icing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Yuuuuum! Very good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
So, although born and raised in Los Angeles, I live in Rome, Italy. And somehow came to this country without a measuring cup, etc. None the less, a little of this and that was actually able to make this unbelievable cake for a colleagues birthday at my Piazza Navona restaurant. I even got compliments to the extent of, "We should totally st6art serving this at the restaurant!" I thought it would be a disaster, but it was absolutely delicious! You could definately taste the champagne. I was weary of the comment below saying that it would taste like bread, so to add vanilla. I only added a few sprinles of vanilla sugar and it came out just amazingly! I highly reccomend this cake to all. This was the 1st cake I ever made, and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Not too sweet and nice, dense cake. Just a hint of champagne flavor not overwhelming. I frosted with store-bought DH white chocolate almond frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNerAsian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My father loved it, but said that it was a little too heavy. It may have been in how I prepared it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is a fine recipe. I will keep it in my recipe box. I served it with fruit topping and this helped with the dryness everyone else was talking about. This cake is like a pound cake with a wine taste. This cake is great with stawberries and black berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turned out great. I used leftover champagne from New Year's. I liked it a lot because it wasn't too sweet or too dry. I used the recipe for fluffy boiled icing with it and the flavors worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABORELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
very dense cake with low crumb. I found it to be a bit dry and chewy. I am wondering if it is due to the extra dry champagne or if I undercooked it. Hmmm, perhaps I was thinking it was going to be a completely different texture and ended up disappointed only because it wasn't what I was looking for. Will try again using a better quality champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Unbelievably wonderfull. I followed the recipe exactly. I wish I could eat this cake all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is an EXCELLENT white cake recipe! I used a little bit extra champagne (total of about a cup for the full recipe) because the batter seemed like it would be way too dry and thick without it, and I baked it in mini muffin tins for adorably bite-sized cupcakes to take to a buffet. They turned out to be a huge hit--not too sweet, slightly dense, not the least bit dry or crumbly, and with a subtle champagne flavor that I foiled with lime buttercream frosting (the Luscious Buttercream Frosting on this site). This recipe is definitely a keeper, and I'll absolutely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States