Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
A big hit at a birthday party, this cake is for grown-ups! The concept isn't that scary, once you get your stiff peaks of egg whites. Just mix gently (folding doesn't seem so descriptive with the very thick batter you have to work with) and keep your cool. Cooks up very nicely in a bundt pan also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was an interesting recipe. I followed it to the letter, and the batter was more like cookie dough before the egg whites, and not much better after. The taste was interesting- my fiance said they tasted like Jiffy muffins! Maybe there was too much baking powder? I don't know. The texture was dense and almost chewy, not what i expected in a cake. Either way, i don't think we'll be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The portion of the cake that cooks is wonderful - moist, delicious, and a big hit (esp. at New Year's party). However, there must be something wrong in the directions, because 2 cakes in a row came out completely raw in the middle after cooking for an extra 15 minutes at 350!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Ding ding ding we have a winner!!! I'm not a huge cake fan, but this...is...awesome! You can really taste the champagne. Used star muffin tins for NYE. I used almost a full cup of spumante, and used Earth Balance margarine(didn't notice i ran out of real butter until i was all set to bake) and they came out superb. Maybe the reviewers who said it was bread-like overbeat it and toughened up the flour? Took only 20 minutes to bake in the tins. Subtly sweet with a nice texture. Like a cross between pound cake and angel food(if that's possible)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was my first cake made from scratch. I made two changes to the recipe. 1. I added white chocolate chips. 2. On accident, I used Chardonnay! Oops! It turned out wonderful! I was pretty worried when my friend informed me that the bottle was Chardonnay, but it was wonderful! If it is good with Chardonnay, I am sure it is even better with Champagne! I went to my friends house, and my boyfriend took the cakes (2 mini-cakes and a batch of cupcakes) out of the oven. When I got home, 3 of the cupcakes were eaten, with no frosting. They actually taste great as muffins too. To my surprise, one of my little cakes was also missing! Looks like my dog also enjoyed this recipe! Bad dog! I will definitely make this recipe again, and I will make it with the Champagne this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I really do like this cake. The texture is nice, but I think I'm not much of a champagne person. Next time I'll try adding in some lemon and strawberry extract and see if I like it better. This is a very lovely and easy cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I used a different preparation method which worked much better. My cake came out very well, but I only used her idea, not recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Made this for a formal family reception for my mom's Vegas wedding. It was great. I overcooked it thought :-) It had an interesting but distinct champagne taste. So great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I really liked this cake. I'd like to try it next time with raspberry chanpagne as others did. I gave it four stars because I was actually looking for a lighter white cake from scratch. This cake is somewhat dense. I think it would make a great 'shortcake' for strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I looked at all the "white cake" recipes on here and all the reviews and decided to try this one. I just happened to have a left over bottle of champagne from my New Year's Eve wedding(2007). Instead of using plain bubbly, my absolute favorite is Rosa Regale. It's a raspberry flavored champagne. I did use 1 cup of it instead of 3/4 and I use egg whites only for everything so I buy the cartons. I used 1 cup of egg whites. It didn't peak as stiffly as I wanted it to at all but this cake was MOIST. I baked it between the 350 and 325 mark for only 25 minutes. It was enough for 2 9in. cake pans. Because the champagne is a raspberry flavor, it also has a raspberry tint to it so the cake had a bit of a tint as well. My Husband loves this cake and next time I need to play with a complimenting "icing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States