Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Didn't care for the flavor of this recipe. I was looking for a plain white cake recipe and figured I would give this a try. I won't be using this recipe again, but don't dismiss it until you try it. You could be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I used a brut champagne that gave the cake a strangely yeasty flavor and aroma. We liked it, but others may want to try to find a frutier champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S.E. Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
All I can say is that it was a hit with the family. :-) I had some trepidation about the egg whites, but they turned out very well. It was easier than I had anticipated. I paid attention to the person who said she added a whole cup of champagne. That worked out very well. The cake was very moist (and we didn't eat it 'til the next evening) and the flavor was lovely. This one is a definite keeper. I made it for my folks 50th wedding anniversary, but will use the recipe for other occasions in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.E. Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
this was a simple recipe, i've never baked a cake before, i've made this one twice. the first one i followed the recipe it came out great, with a cream cheese-coolwhip icing it was verry good. second time i used siera mist instead champagne and added 1 box strawberry jello which gave it a total different flaver. P.S. GIVE IT A TRY IT'S GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Made cupcakes with the batter and they turned out great! Will make again. I used strawberry champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this recipe twice and found that, although the flavor is very good, it works best as cupcakes. The finished product is more bread like and too heavy to layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickslindsay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aDozenFlours
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I had to bake this cake for almost a full hour, however it turned out perfectly. The time difference is the only reason I gave it 4 stars. I made it for a birthday party and there was not a scrap left. I used the " quick and almost professional butter cream icing" recipe from this site and served it with strawberries. Will definitely bake again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aDozenFlours

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
good cake texture, didn't care for the champagne taste, which was pronounced. but perhaps if I used better champagne. but I wouldn't be cause this cake is already labor intensive. good result though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is delicious moist cake. You can really taste the champagne (I increased the amount of champagne to a total of 1 cup) I frosted it with buttercream frosting and sprinkled it with sparkly white sprinkles. It was the perfect New Year's Eve dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Perfect! Used a sweet champagne and cut out a little white sugar - tastes amazing! Great for a special occasion like an engagment party or a just more sophisticated substitute to the ol' birthday cake. And since the bottle is already open, you might as well enjoy the rest, and really enjoy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States