Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Andrea F
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe tastes great. I really beat the egg whites until very stiff and beat the sugar and butter really well. i used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Icing on this and got rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made these with lime frosting and they were pretty good. The champagne gave them a taste that was a mix between a bread roll and a angel food cake with a dense consistency. I thought they were too bread like, but everyone else loved them. I think the novelty of having champagne in a cupcake made everyone think they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Besides being moist, this cake tasted like pancake mix. the cupcake did however give off the fragrance of champagne just didn't impart any flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
was "eh"....I even followed the tips in the reviews....I wasn't overly impressed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Works with a flavored Mike's Hard Lemonade too (I used the cranberry, tasty and pretty pink)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Excellent! Subtle champagne flavor and good texture. I made mini cupcakes with this (bake at 350 for 9 minutes, yields about 4 dozen bite-sized cupcakes). Followed the recipe exactly, except for subbing Splenda for sugar. I sifted the dry ingredients together twice to make sure they were nice and light. I also creamed the butter and sugar together for a good long time, again, to make it light. I used an Asti spumante, as suggested by a previous reviewer. I topped this with a pineapple buttercream, but I can't wait to try it with other flavors (I'm thinking mimosa- and bellini-inspired cupcakes!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Such a light and fluffy cake mix...I followed the recipe exactly and loved the way this came out! I used a regular buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I didn't think this cake had much of a champagne flavor. The texture was fine and held up to multiple layers well, and it tasted good-just not like champagne. I even added a champagne simple syrup to keep it moist while layering, filling and icing and I still couldn't taste much champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a great cake. Reading the reviews the reason you got a “crumbly” cake is because you didn’t make the egg whites into stiff peaks. Bowl and beater must be clean and free of water to make the stiff peaks. Also increase the champagne to 1 cup and add 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I topped with whipped cream and fresh berries. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was my first cake i made from scratch and it turned out perfect. Very moist and light. I used Softasilk cake flour instead of all purpose flour. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone wanting to make a cake from scratch. It is not too sweet so it can be frosted and not be overwhelmingly sweet. I filled mine with a homemade tart raspberry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States