Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These cupcakes were incredible. They came out wonderfully light and fluffy. I made them a little more decadent for New Year's by adding a sabayon filling and an orange cream cheese frosting to create a mimosa cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent cake ~ very moist. Frosted with Champagne Buttercream frosting and served with Raspberry Sauce. Very nice for New Years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this for a 4oth birthday cake...everyone raved about it!...even my husband who doesn't usually like white cakes. The Champagne Cake II icing is a must with this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Katona Linn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is the second time I made a chamapgne cake and it turned out better than the first time. The texture was a little like steamed cake only a little heavier and the champagne taste was really special. I used castor sugar instead of granulated sugar and it a wise move because when I used granulated sugar the first time it did not turn out with the expected texture and was runny. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either. I made 12 cupcakes and an 8x8 cake with it. Like other reviewers said, it seemed kind of heavy and had a different taste to it. Obviously the champagne. I will probably make this again just because I have to use up the rest of the champagne bottle. :) Otherwise, I wouldn't really bother as it's nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made these cupcakes for a friend's birthday yesterday and they turned out great! Not too sweet and just heavy that they did not fall apart, but light and scrumptious. I did end up adding a bit of club soda, about 2.5 tablespoons, before I added the beaten egg whites because it was so incredibly thick my kitchen aid stand mixer was having a time working the batter. Be warned it takes quite a long time to fold in the eggs, and it is important to do so slowly - do NOT make this recipe if you are in a hurry or want a simple, no fuss cake. It is worth the time when you have it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I have been doing a lot of research on finding the right recipe and tried this one and another one and this one had the champagne taste in it vs others! This is my my cake for now on and also, make sure you add 1 cup of champagne instead to make sure you get flavor. I made buttercream and added champagne instead of water/extract and YUMMY! I tinted this red too. So cute! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This cake just did not come out right. I followed the recipe exactly but for some reason it tasted like banana bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
A very nice cake if you read the reviews and follow the tips. I did use a sweet champagne and a little red food coloring to make it pink. After I prepared the batter i swirled in some of my homemade strawberry jam right before I baked it. So Yummy! I filled it with white chocolate ganache. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Not enough champagne to even taste it once baked. Very thick bread-like texture. Not even good buttercream frosting and strawberry filling could save this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States