Challah in a Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I've tried this recipe twice, it didn't rise either time (after following the recipe exactly). The taste was ok, but it was more like a bagel, then challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibirae
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Does not taste like Challah. I do not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This challah tasted of flour and nothing else. I made it according to directions and it was heavy and dull. Next Shabbos I will be organized and make it properly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was awesome! Sorry to say, but if it doesn't turn out, you need to look at what you did. One person wrote that it was better than traditional Challah, but since I have never had Challah, this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have used this recipe for two years as my Easter bread and my family loves it! Also, it's perfect to do with my three year old and rises fast and easy. Everyone always wants to take some home after our Easter feast - this is a terrific bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I put this together in the morning and by noon it had almost tripled in size. The loaves lacked some flavor, but my family was still happy. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This bread took much longer than 2 hours to rise and 20-30 minutes to cook. I let it rise for almost 4 hours before it doubled & baked for 30-35 minutes for complete doneness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
a delicious, easy to make bread. Very adaptable to various additions of ingredients for variety, as well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
According to my brother-in-law it's EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
NO WHERE AS GOOD AS TRADITIONAL CHALLAH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States