Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Wow, yum! My challah came out of the oven so beautiful. It did not rise too dramatically before baking, but more than doubled in size as it baked. The bread came out beautifully yellow and golden brown, and I could not believe I had made such a gorgeous bread. It tastes wonderful too -- light enough to make sandwiches out of, and sweet and hard to stop eating. Warning -- this makes alot. I halved the recipe and it made a LARGE loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
This challah turns out kind of dry, IMHO. Its texture is in between the Number 1 Hawaiian Egg Bread (which is lighter and more feathery) and the wonderful Challah I (which is more dense and moist). This bread certainly looks beautiful when it's done, and don't get me wrong, it tastes fine. However, I'll stick to Challah I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This is a recipe that I make for New Year's Eve dinner. We share with friends, and family. People always asked what the ingredients were but like my mother, grandmother I could not tell them, because its a pinch of this , six handfuls of that and so on. this is the same recipe. Thank you.Tejani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The bread was pretty good although my mistake was letting it cook too long. The recipe said to bake for 35-40 minutes and after 25 minutes in my oven it was very well done. Maybe it was my oven? The flavour is very good, although as it is quite rich I would probably only make it once or twice a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
i didn't really like the strong honey flavor too much, but my sister loved it. also, a bit sweeter than the typical challah. the loaf was huge, and a bit underdone in the middle (maybe my oven's too hot?) so i think next time i'll try two smaller loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
The bread didn't rise the first time so I just kneaded it again and it worked. So good and easy that I am making it with my Preschool class next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This bread turned out wonderful. It was fun to make too! We ate the whole loaf in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving...it was perfect! Made a very large loaf! The dough is a little sweet and very moist and delicious. Tastes excellent slightly warmed with butter on top. I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
The best challah I have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
This is hands-down the best bread I've ever made. Everyone goes crazy over it! The texture is dense and doughy, and the honey makes it super-sweet. I top mine with sesame seeds--simply sprinkle them on after brushing with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States