Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mom2EBA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was GREAT! I used about 1/3cp of honey( thats all i had left) and didn't need to add all of the flour.It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
The Challah is dleicious. However, I would like to share with my fellow amateur bread bakers that the water in which you dissolve the yeast (instant or not) should be no warmer than luke warm. If the water is too hot, it will kill the yeast and your dough wont rise. This can be disheartening. It is also possible that this recipe should call for 2 packets of yeast. Eventhough others have reviewed that one worked fine. I have just made another loaf and it will not rise. Just like the first. But, when I add a second, it does rise. So the question is: Have I killed the yeast twice or should the recipe call for two .25 ounce packets?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
It didn't rise and didn't cook all the way, so was doughy inside. It was sweet, but I like sweeter bread, so added honey on top before eating. It was moist and crisp on the outside. Next time I would make the roll smaller in width so it cooks all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shorthoneys
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
it wasnt as sweet as i thought it would be, not enough eggs i think maybe. but other than that it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but the bread never rose. I saw that someone else had the same problem and tried re-kneading it, it still didn't rise. Well it was my daughter who was helping so we went ahead and put it in the oven where it did indeed rise. (It tasted awful though.) The dough was also extremely sticky, I've made challah before and it's never been like that before. I probably won't try it again, all around a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Absolutely, unequivocably the best Challah I have ever made. If you follow the directions, you'll make a perfect loaf, with the possible exception of the baking time and temperature. I depart a bit from the prescribed method. First, Challah dough (if it's the real thing)does not like to rise quickly. I like to make the dough in the evening, throw it into a small plastic garbage bag, which has been sprayed inside with Pam-spray, then leave in the refrigerator overnight. Next morning, punch down & let it rise till double. You may have to wait up to three hours for this, but be patient with it! When you punch it down the second time, give it some time to rest before you go jerking it around again. This dough is not one to be hurried! When it's had time to relax, go ahead and braid it, and then let it rise again--at its own pace, please! You go throwing dough into a slightly heated oven, or out in the sunlight, and you're going to get sour bread that tastes more like a keg of beer than sweet bread. 350 oven? What's with that? I bake mine at 315 (convection oven) and it comes out completely done on the inside, and with a beautiful golden crust on top AND bottom. Oh, about the braiding thing. I am not Jewish, but I do keep the Sabbath. Traditional Challah calls for six "ropes" to represent the six days, and one "rope" to place on top of them to represent the Sabbath day. To do this, divide your dough into 7 pieces, rolling each into a rope about 3/4 inch in diameter. With the fi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is great! Very moist with a hint of sweetness. The bread came out looking beautiful and tasting great alone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is an AMAZING recipe! All of my family and friends ask for some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Pretty good. A little dry...but I liked the honey flavor, which seems to be a little sweeter than the average challa. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! It is so easy! This was the first Challah that I ever made and it came out perfectly. I cut the water in 1/2 and I had to add about a cup more flour. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States