Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Meagan Theriault
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it worked great! Beautiful dough, and delicious bread. Turns out I'm not great at braiding, but the second one turned out prettier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Theriault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
There was nothing special about this challah. We followed it to a t, and it was dry and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anothersmith
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It was a little denser than I expected, but I suppose if I let it rise a little longer that *might* solve the problem? Flavor was really good, looked just beautiful! Used it the next morning for French toast - again, a little dense for that, but the flavor was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parnyparn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I halved the recipe used 1 whole egg and 3 yolks and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I don't usually rate, but this recipe made it nearly impossible. It came out absolutely perfect. This will be one of my new favorite bread recipes and everyone LOVED it. So happy I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Crowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I agree with other reviewers that the dough was too sticky so I had to add more flour. I made this recipe for the first time last year for a Christmas party and it was a huge hit! it was nice and soft in the middle and a little more firm on the crust....... tastes great by itself or with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The bread turned out great, but the braids melded together losing the beautiful braided appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tale Eriksen Voldseth
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great Challah recipe! I altered it by adding one more egg, reduced the baking time by 7 minutes and added some honey to the eggwash :) I also covered it with foil after 20 minutes to reduce the amount of browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My kids love this bread! I throw all the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough cycle, take it out and braid it as instructed. I don't even let it rise after I braid it, I just throw it in the oven and it rises beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States