Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Incredibly easy, and a nice light flavor that makes everyone happy. I must make smaller loaves, though, bc I ended up with 3: 1 regular loaf, a round braid, and a huge braid. I could've divided this into 4 pieces and gotten regular sized loaves out of each piece. We had the regular loaf tonight for sandwiches and it worked perfectly. This bread rises extremely well and has a nice flavor, mild enough for sandwiches yet good enough to eat by itself. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I don't usually write reviews but I had to write a review for this bread. It was so amazing and so easy to make! It took several attempts to get the dough braided just right but it turned out pretty! The kitchen smelled wonderful as the bread was baking. My husband and I both snacked on the bread and just couldn't get enough of it! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Boyfriend requested french toast for his birthday breakfast so I searched for a good bread recipe to use for it. Very glad I stumbled upon this recipe. I have never eaten challah bread before so I dont have a frame of reference but this bread is so good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used bread flour instead of all purpose. I found that I did not need all 8 cups. I got through about 6.5 cups before the dough reached the desired consistency. This recipe makes ALOT of dough... I wasn't prepared for having so much bread at one time so instead of two large loaves I made one large loaf and three smaller loaves. I preheated my baking stone at 550 for one hour and then decreased the temp to 375. I placed the loaves directly on the baking stone and baked for 25 minutes. Turned out perfect. My family and I devoured two of the smaller loaves right out of the oven. We used the third smaller loaf for french toast this morning and now we have the huge loaf left over. I will probably half this recipe next time unless I'm feeding more then 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
It looked good but pretty bland. I wouldn't make this recipe again. My jewish boyfriend gave it a 7.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
perfect for french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
First of all, as a rule, I can NOT bake bread. This recipe has cured me of that! YUM! Easy, and beautiful. I rolled my dough out, buttered it lightly, grated cinnamon over it, sprinkled it with light brown sugar, rolled it up, let it rise, and baked it. I hope to make french toast from it tonight for dinner, if I can keep my family out of it long enough. :) THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jddmom
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I just feel in love with this recipe. Even after halving the recipe, I still had enough dough to make 2 footlong loaves. Don't pull your dough strings tight when you braid the dough. A tight braid will result in a cracked brad later on. I learned first hand :(, but still perfectly edible. I also didn't have problems with my bread bottom burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made this for Easter and it was OUTSTANDING. Very easy and much better than what you can buy at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Best challah recipe ever! I also added a tablespoon of mahleb (also mahlep and mahlepi) and the kitchen smelled like bread-lover's heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I loved this bread! It made a couple loves, and I tried two different braids on them, and they both worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States