Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Lanaray
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
A PERFECT Challah! Everyone RAVES about it every Friday night. I make a strudel topping (instead of poppy seeds) by mixing one teaspoon of melted margarine with 2 tsp of flour and 3 tsp of white sugar. Mix it until it is a crumble consistency and sprinkle it on just before popping into the oven. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RachelC
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Yum! This bread was delicious, like eating a fluffy pillow made of bread. I followed the recipe proportions exactly. I made the following adjustments: -Water temperature was about 95 degrees F. -Used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. -Added salt during the flour mixing portion of the recipe, just to ensure it wouldn't counteract the yeast too quickly. -Used regular eggs for the dough, but for the egg wash on top of the bread, I used yoke only plus a spoonful of water (no egg whites). -Baked on parchment paper on top of preheated baking stones. I put a little vegetable oil on the parchment paper to ensure the dough would not stick. -At 375 degrees, it only took 22 minutes to bake properly. Allowed bread to cool for an hour before I sliced it. This made two very large loaves. I had to preheat two baking stones in the oven, otherwise there would not have been enough space. I watched a couple of videos on YouTube to see how people braided the loaves and decided to do a 3-strand braid. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is THE perfect recipe and I have tried several. Having grown up on Challah bread, this recipe is truly the real deal! It's easy to make AND yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I really like this Challah recipe. I added a little OJ instead of warm water to give the bread some extra flavor. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This bread is awesome. I think it will be our new family staple. Nice rich flavor. i followed some other reviewers and used milk instead of water, 2 1/4 t. yeast or one pack, 3 whole eggs in the dough one for wash and 4 T. butter instead of vegetable oil. It is easy to make and came out great the first time. It got scarfed down by anyone and everyone. It makes 2 huge loaves which is a plus in my book. Also, it kept well in the fridge for at least one week. I am going to try making cinnamon braids next time. It makes incredible french toast and bread crumbs too. Like I said I think it will be my new go to all purpose bread for the family. MMMMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Love this recipe! I made 6 loaves for a 50-person dorm and they were gone within five hours. I proof the yeast in the honey and water for 10 minutes before adding everything else. I use a stand mixer and knead with a dough hook for 10 minutes. Use the recipe as a guideline for flour amounts. I start with 8 cups as recommended, but it varies every time I make it with humidity, temperature, etc. I simply add more flour until the dough reaches a workable consistency -- it should pull away from and "clean" the inside of the bowl as the dough hook kneads it. I generally only have to bake for 25-30 minutes at most. The bread is incredibly moist, sweet and eggy, and folks are always impressed by the beautiful braid. Try rolling cinnamon, sugar and raisins into the dough as well. This makes the best French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made two loaves, 1 with raisins and 1 plain with sea salt on the top. My family RAVED about this bread!!! We all had sandwiches on it for dinner and devoured the whole loaf in one sitting. The raisin challah got a little extra treatment as a dessert with amaretto butter sauce drizzled on each slice. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Holy cow. A while back, I decided I was going to learn how to bake bread, and this was the first recipe I used. I had four roommates and a number of friends over at any given time, so every time I made this, it was gone well before anybody went home or to bed. I was thrilled at how easy it was to make! One time, I was out of honey, so I tried molasses instead. It gave it a unique, but no less delicious, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made this over the holidays and it turned out wonderful! I made it exactly how mentioned except I made three loaves instead of two...wonderful recipe and easy. Thanks Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
this was so easy. Followed the recipe exactly and it tastes great. Mine wasn't as egg-y as the bakery though. Made 2 enormorous braids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States