Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Boyfriend requested french toast for his birthday breakfast so I searched for a good bread recipe to use for it. Very glad I stumbled upon this recipe. I have never eaten challah bread before so I dont have a frame of reference but this bread is so good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used bread flour instead of all purpose. I found that I did not need all 8 cups. I got through about 6.5 cups before the dough reached the desired consistency. This recipe makes ALOT of dough... I wasn't prepared for having so much bread at one time so instead of two large loaves I made one large loaf and three smaller loaves. I preheated my baking stone at 550 for one hour and then decreased the temp to 375. I placed the loaves directly on the baking stone and baked for 25 minutes. Turned out perfect. My family and I devoured two of the smaller loaves right out of the oven. We used the third smaller loaf for french toast this morning and now we have the huge loaf left over. I will probably half this recipe next time unless I'm feeding more then 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
It looked good but pretty bland. I wouldn't make this recipe again. My jewish boyfriend gave it a 7.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
perfect for french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
First of all, as a rule, I can NOT bake bread. This recipe has cured me of that! YUM! Easy, and beautiful. I rolled my dough out, buttered it lightly, grated cinnamon over it, sprinkled it with light brown sugar, rolled it up, let it rise, and baked it. I hope to make french toast from it tonight for dinner, if I can keep my family out of it long enough. :) THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jddmom
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I just feel in love with this recipe. Even after halving the recipe, I still had enough dough to make 2 footlong loaves. Don't pull your dough strings tight when you braid the dough. A tight braid will result in a cracked brad later on. I learned first hand :(, but still perfectly edible. I also didn't have problems with my bread bottom burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made this for Easter and it was OUTSTANDING. Very easy and much better than what you can buy at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Best challah recipe ever! I also added a tablespoon of mahleb (also mahlep and mahlepi) and the kitchen smelled like bread-lover's heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I loved this bread! It made a couple loves, and I tried two different braids on them, and they both worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I just made this and it is phenomenal! Mine was out of the oven 7 minutes earlier though, so my only suggestion is to watch it towards the end, and when it's nice and dark gold, take it out. My baking sheets are apparently no longer non-stick, so next time i will be using some parchment too. Great recipe! Won't be buying bread from the store half as much now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Excellent and easy to make! When I added the yeast to the water I also added the honey and let the mixture sit for about 20 minutes. The yeast was activated and ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by botolski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States