Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by heidi
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My grandmother made Challah for Sabbath, so I was hoping to get the same type she made from this recipe. The bread looked fantastic and was a perfect piture of Challah, but as soon as I tasted it, I knew it wasn't the same. I'm not sure how to fix it, but it sure needs more egg yolks and honey, it lacked the honey eggy flavor Bubbe's did! Also, the dough was far too sticky with the 8 cups of flour, and found I had to add quite a bit more in order to work with it. I am thinking of using egg yolks only, more honey and cutting down on the water. The good news is that it did make excellent french toast and croutons, so not a total loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
My husband and I have just one word for this Challah recipe--AWESOME!! Since I am no longer able to find Challah in any of my local stores, I decided to try this. I halved the recipe, and altered it pretty much as Feeding Frenzy did, using 1/2 c honey and one egg plus 3 yolks. Turned out beautifully. Can't wait to use this for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Incredibly easy, and a nice light flavor that makes everyone happy. I must make smaller loaves, though, bc I ended up with 3: 1 regular loaf, a round braid, and a huge braid. I could've divided this into 4 pieces and gotten regular sized loaves out of each piece. We had the regular loaf tonight for sandwiches and it worked perfectly. This bread rises extremely well and has a nice flavor, mild enough for sandwiches yet good enough to eat by itself. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I don't usually write reviews but I had to write a review for this bread. It was so amazing and so easy to make! It took several attempts to get the dough braided just right but it turned out pretty! The kitchen smelled wonderful as the bread was baking. My husband and I both snacked on the bread and just couldn't get enough of it! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Boyfriend requested french toast for his birthday breakfast so I searched for a good bread recipe to use for it. Very glad I stumbled upon this recipe. I have never eaten challah bread before so I dont have a frame of reference but this bread is so good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used bread flour instead of all purpose. I found that I did not need all 8 cups. I got through about 6.5 cups before the dough reached the desired consistency. This recipe makes ALOT of dough... I wasn't prepared for having so much bread at one time so instead of two large loaves I made one large loaf and three smaller loaves. I preheated my baking stone at 550 for one hour and then decreased the temp to 375. I placed the loaves directly on the baking stone and baked for 25 minutes. Turned out perfect. My family and I devoured two of the smaller loaves right out of the oven. We used the third smaller loaf for french toast this morning and now we have the huge loaf left over. I will probably half this recipe next time unless I'm feeding more then 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
It looked good but pretty bland. I wouldn't make this recipe again. My jewish boyfriend gave it a 7.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
perfect for french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
First of all, as a rule, I can NOT bake bread. This recipe has cured me of that! YUM! Easy, and beautiful. I rolled my dough out, buttered it lightly, grated cinnamon over it, sprinkled it with light brown sugar, rolled it up, let it rise, and baked it. I hope to make french toast from it tonight for dinner, if I can keep my family out of it long enough. :) THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jddmom
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I just feel in love with this recipe. Even after halving the recipe, I still had enough dough to make 2 footlong loaves. Don't pull your dough strings tight when you braid the dough. A tight braid will result in a cracked brad later on. I learned first hand :(, but still perfectly edible. I also didn't have problems with my bread bottom burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made this for Easter and it was OUTSTANDING. Very easy and much better than what you can buy at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States