Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
these were so yummy. i did make a couple of changes, though. i halved the recipe, but i still used about 1/3c honey. i also used an additional egg yolk. and i proofed the yeast in the warm water with a little sugar before mixing everything together. i didnt make loaves, i made them into little rolls instead (got 13 GIANT rolls with halved recipe). i brushed them with a little melted butter before letting them rise a second time, then brushed them again with an egg/honey wash before baking them. i didn't have any issues with them rising either time, and they turned out delicious and flaky. thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
needs a pinch more salt and more honey doesn't hurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This recipe tasted very bland and the cook time was too long. Both of my loaves were burned and I took them out at 34 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I used the altered recipe as stated by feeding frenzy and it came out FANTASTIC! my family were ecstatic, and the only alteration i used was a omission of the honey in the egg wash. The foil tent is CRUCIAL as otherwise the challah will burn to a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Love Challah bread and wanted to try to make it for the first time. It turned out perfectly! My family couldn't get enough. My mom even brought some to work to show how tasty it was! It's only been one day and half of the gigantic loaf is almost gone because my father won't stop eating it! It takes some time to make but it's worth it in the end. The smell is so wonderful I wish my home always smelled like fresh baked Challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzion143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Delicious. Not too sweet, and it turns out nice and airy. Will definitely make again (I'll have to try it with raisins!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
A good, standard challah. For a richer taste, I used two additional egg yolks, and a bit of extra honey doesn't hurt. I tried another variant for this week's shabbat, and added 1/4 cup of half & half, which produced an excellent texture. (A kosher note--only include the dairy if you're house doesn't serve meat on shabbat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Followed suggestions from the top reviewer for this recipe who said he figured out how to "make it perfect." And, it came out perfect! This is the first time I've ever had bread rise correctly, look great, and taste great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I've been making challah for years and am always looking for the "best" recipe. I was spurred on in my quest by all the positive reviews for the recipe...I made it exactly as written w/o any changes/additions. The consistency was perfect but the taste -- it had none! I don't like my challah particularly sweet but this bread was bland...tasted like flour and water...next time I may do as others have suggested and increase # of egg yolks and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
i added extra egg yolks in lieu of the second egg. Next time, i will have to let the dough rise longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States