Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
needs a pinch more salt and more honey doesn't hurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This recipe tasted very bland and the cook time was too long. Both of my loaves were burned and I took them out at 34 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I used the altered recipe as stated by feeding frenzy and it came out FANTASTIC! my family were ecstatic, and the only alteration i used was a omission of the honey in the egg wash. The foil tent is CRUCIAL as otherwise the challah will burn to a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Love Challah bread and wanted to try to make it for the first time. It turned out perfectly! My family couldn't get enough. My mom even brought some to work to show how tasty it was! It's only been one day and half of the gigantic loaf is almost gone because my father won't stop eating it! It takes some time to make but it's worth it in the end. The smell is so wonderful I wish my home always smelled like fresh baked Challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzion143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Delicious. Not too sweet, and it turns out nice and airy. Will definitely make again (I'll have to try it with raisins!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
A good, standard challah. For a richer taste, I used two additional egg yolks, and a bit of extra honey doesn't hurt. I tried another variant for this week's shabbat, and added 1/4 cup of half & half, which produced an excellent texture. (A kosher note--only include the dairy if you're house doesn't serve meat on shabbat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Followed suggestions from the top reviewer for this recipe who said he figured out how to "make it perfect." And, it came out perfect! This is the first time I've ever had bread rise correctly, look great, and taste great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I've been making challah for years and am always looking for the "best" recipe. I was spurred on in my quest by all the positive reviews for the recipe...I made it exactly as written w/o any changes/additions. The consistency was perfect but the taste -- it had none! I don't like my challah particularly sweet but this bread was bland...tasted like flour and water...next time I may do as others have suggested and increase # of egg yolks and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
i added extra egg yolks in lieu of the second egg. Next time, i will have to let the dough rise longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I will definitely make this again! and a friend asked for the recipe. I am new to baking bread, and this turned out wonderful! I didn't have as much honey as the recipe called for, but will only use half next time because I think all that honey makes it a bit to sweet. We'll see, either way very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barkanicGirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fogelsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 201-210 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States