Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This recipe turned out just wonderfully! Very easy to make, and a wonderfully thick, warm, doughy challah. Beautiful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
fantastic bread. This recipe made two loaves for me...so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magician176

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
DELICIOUS! My kids are asking me to switch from my normal everyday bread recipe to this one. The only thing that I found that needed to be changed was the baking time. I will reduce it by 5 minutes next time. My loaves were almost black on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
LOVE this recipe for 2 reasons: 1-the bread actually rose! before this recipe i thought i was curised with yeast. but nottttt anymoreee! and 2- i feel like a great jew! I split the dough into 5 small loaves and now my mom can give it to her friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabbygal98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Excellent!!! I used sesame seeds instead of poppy seeds and it took a little less than 40 minutes for mine to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Roy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I've never written a review on this site before, but this recipe is FANTASTIC! I have always had trouble getting challah "just right" but this recipe made me look like a pro. Reduced the flour to 7 cups (plus a couple tablespoons for flouring the countertop) and I agree with previous reviewers that the challah should be covered after the first 20 minutes to prevent browning. But this recipe gave me just the dense, pull-apart-able consistency that I was dying for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucky
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
mmm good. Not quite as light as I wanted. Took advice from other users: 1. after 20 min in oven, I covered with foil so it would not over brown. 2. used honey- egg wash rather than plain egg wash This was an easy recipe to follow. I'm not a baker so all the tips and thorough directions came in handy. The most difficult piece was rolling out the 3 strands for braiding. I literally swung the strands like a jump rope until they were long enough! Rolling didn't work for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great recipe! Mine came out chewy but great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Beautiful and very tasty. Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian_Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States