Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Delicious. Not too sweet, and it turns out nice and airy. Will definitely make again (I'll have to try it with raisins!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
A good, standard challah. For a richer taste, I used two additional egg yolks, and a bit of extra honey doesn't hurt. I tried another variant for this week's shabbat, and added 1/4 cup of half & half, which produced an excellent texture. (A kosher note--only include the dairy if you're house doesn't serve meat on shabbat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Followed suggestions from the top reviewer for this recipe who said he figured out how to "make it perfect." And, it came out perfect! This is the first time I've ever had bread rise correctly, look great, and taste great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I've been making challah for years and am always looking for the "best" recipe. I was spurred on in my quest by all the positive reviews for the recipe...I made it exactly as written w/o any changes/additions. The consistency was perfect but the taste -- it had none! I don't like my challah particularly sweet but this bread was bland...tasted like flour and water...next time I may do as others have suggested and increase # of egg yolks and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
i added extra egg yolks in lieu of the second egg. Next time, i will have to let the dough rise longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I will definitely make this again! and a friend asked for the recipe. I am new to baking bread, and this turned out wonderful! I didn't have as much honey as the recipe called for, but will only use half next time because I think all that honey makes it a bit to sweet. We'll see, either way very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barkanicGirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fogelsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Very, very good bread. I have made this twice, once with rapid rise yeast and one with traditional active dry yeast. Active dry yeast works 100% better. Make sure to let the yeast/warm water sit for ten minutes with a tsp of sugar before adding other ingredients. Using bread flour also produced a better product than using all purpose flour. Used one egg, three egg yokes for the dough per another reviewer's suggestion, and added a Tablespoon of honey to the egg bath at the end. Definitely take the suggestion of baking for 30 minutes only, and cover with foil after 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is the best bread I've made. Followed another reviewer's advice of only baking for 25 min. I'm not sure if I'd classify it in the same category as the Challah I had growing up, but it's absolutely delicious. I think if I wanted to make it more Challah-y next time, I'd add more eggs? The bread itself is light and fluffy, I got 3 decent sized loaves out of this recipe. I will say I attempted to make the dough in my bread machine (2 lb loaf max) and it couldn't handle the large quantity or possibly the stickyness- the mixing paddle somehow came off. Still, made it by hand and it turned out amazingly. Dusted sugar, cinnamon and cocoa powder on the top of one loaf, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahalley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've made this two times for my family now, and both times got rave reviews! I stuck pretty close to the recipe. One time I substituted sugar for honey, as I didn't have any on hand, and it turned out just fine. I plan to experiment with adding herbs in the future. I also had fun experimenting with different ways to braid it...the easiest way to make the braid look more intricate was to cut about 1/3 the dough of the loaf. Divide the larger part into three strands and braid, then divide the smaller part and braid as well. Then lay the smaller braid on top of the larger braid and tuck the ends under the larger braid. Came out beautifully! Will definitely be a standard for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I loved this bread recipe! I find it's tasty and easy to braid I even did a 12 rope with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States