Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
i added extra egg yolks in lieu of the second egg. Next time, i will have to let the dough rise longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I will definitely make this again! and a friend asked for the recipe. I am new to baking bread, and this turned out wonderful! I didn't have as much honey as the recipe called for, but will only use half next time because I think all that honey makes it a bit to sweet. We'll see, either way very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barkanicGirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fogelsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Very, very good bread. I have made this twice, once with rapid rise yeast and one with traditional active dry yeast. Active dry yeast works 100% better. Make sure to let the yeast/warm water sit for ten minutes with a tsp of sugar before adding other ingredients. Using bread flour also produced a better product than using all purpose flour. Used one egg, three egg yokes for the dough per another reviewer's suggestion, and added a Tablespoon of honey to the egg bath at the end. Definitely take the suggestion of baking for 30 minutes only, and cover with foil after 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is the best bread I've made. Followed another reviewer's advice of only baking for 25 min. I'm not sure if I'd classify it in the same category as the Challah I had growing up, but it's absolutely delicious. I think if I wanted to make it more Challah-y next time, I'd add more eggs? The bread itself is light and fluffy, I got 3 decent sized loaves out of this recipe. I will say I attempted to make the dough in my bread machine (2 lb loaf max) and it couldn't handle the large quantity or possibly the stickyness- the mixing paddle somehow came off. Still, made it by hand and it turned out amazingly. Dusted sugar, cinnamon and cocoa powder on the top of one loaf, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahalley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've made this two times for my family now, and both times got rave reviews! I stuck pretty close to the recipe. One time I substituted sugar for honey, as I didn't have any on hand, and it turned out just fine. I plan to experiment with adding herbs in the future. I also had fun experimenting with different ways to braid it...the easiest way to make the braid look more intricate was to cut about 1/3 the dough of the loaf. Divide the larger part into three strands and braid, then divide the smaller part and braid as well. Then lay the smaller braid on top of the larger braid and tuck the ends under the larger braid. Came out beautifully! Will definitely be a standard for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I loved this bread recipe! I find it's tasty and easy to braid I even did a 12 rope with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a great Challah! Although it made 2 huge loafs. Next time I will cut the recipe in half so we don't end up wasting any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
SO good! I halved the recipe, but kept the original amount of honey, so it would be a little sweeter. Result was probably the most delicious challah I have ever tried. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Oh goodness, this was the best yet! The crust was perfect and golden, not too dry with just the right amount of chewiness. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My husband says this is the best bread I have ever made. Thanks! We add an extra 1/4 cup of honey to the dough and a teaspoon of honey to the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Numina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States