Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I love making breads! This was new to me but it turned out great and my family enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was my first time making challah and it came out just the way I remember it from my childhood in NY, where we purchased it from neighborhood German Jewish bakeries. I made 4 changes to the recipe, which worked out beautifully: 1) I used 3/4 cup honey because I like a sweeter dough, 2) I let the dough rise three times because I live in Salt Lake City, which is a mile above sea level. The first time was 1 1/2 hrs., the second 30 min., and the third time an hour. I kneaded the dough for about 5 minutes after each rising. 3) I braided the loaves with 6 instead of 3 strands of dough for a gorgeous appearance, after studying YouTube videos. 4) The final change was to use 2 sets of egg wash - one after the final kneading after the dough was braided and set to rest for an hour, and the second was immediately before baking. The 2 egg washes provided a beautiful lacquer that made the bread look irresistable! My husband and I consumed half a loaf in a single sitting, agreeing that it was the best challah we've tasted since leaving NY in 1978. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
BANG! BANG! BANG! BANG ON!!! My first time baking bread, doing challah/ha-motzi and a success. Moist inside but light, flavourful but not overpowering, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hugo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Is there anything better then fresh hot bread? This recipe was simple and looked and tasted great! My first successful attempt at making homemade bread, and I have made it a few times since. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Flor
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is an absolute 5 star recipe! COmes out great EVERY time! I add chopped onion and chopped parsley. It turns out moist and tasty! I keep making it every Friday! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is a really great Challah recipe! The only thing is that the baking time too long. It usually only takes between 20 and 30 minutes (about 25 when the dough is divided into 3 loaves). You can tell when they are done when the braid starts to stretch in the middle and you can see white. Then it will be nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Thank you for the recipe,it turned even better than I've expected ,my hubby thought I got them from a bakery. They took only 30 min to cook though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I made this bread yesterday! I used wheat flour instead of white. It was light and fluffy and turned out perfect! Everyone LOVED IT! I did not seperate the yokes from the white when sperading it on the bread before baking and had no problems as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Of course I made a few changes. I added 3/4 cup of honey along with 3 eggs. I also let the bread rise three times. The first time and hour, the second time 1/2 hour, braid and brush with egg wash then rise a third time for one hour. This is a large recipe so I make 4 smaller loaves and freeze 3 of them after they are braided. Allow 5 hours to thaw and rise then bake. I also reduced the baking temperature to 350 and reduced the baking time to 15-18 minutes for the smaller breads. Thanks for this recipe. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Wonderful bread - thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States