Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I followed Feeding Frenzy's idea's as well as the recipe itself. We got two perfect loaves my husband and I just LOVE!!! Great challah. I will certainly make it again. Thanks for the recipe, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is a wonderful bread... sometimes I add golden raisins, cinnamon, or nuts. IF you have any leftover a few days after baking - it makes a delicious french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is my go to for bread I make one huge loaf for family get together I love using the honey but sometimes I'll use sorghum molasses instead of the honey and it comes out this beautiful caramel color and tastes great. It it a always comes out right recipe for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Too dry and tasted like bland white bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I halved the recipe and put the ingredients in a bread machine on the dough cycle. When the cycle finished, I simply made the braid and impressed the guests. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
my family loved this bread and i enjoyed making it. it definitely did not need 40 minutes in the oven though. mine was done at 30 and the loaf that was on the top was a little overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is the best Challah recipe I have come across! I TRIPLE the honey as my family has a sweet tooth AND it makes the bread super-delicious! Additionally, I always make two loaves from this one recipe. I braid each loaf seperately and cook each individually. I have found that cooking each smaller loaf seperately AND AT A LOWER TEMP (335 for 30 minutes) makes the bread perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made 1/4 of the recipe, ending up with 8 buns. I used half a packet of quick rise yeast, doubled the honey, used 1 whole egg, & used 1.5 cups white bread flour + 1 cup all purpose flour. The texture of the buns was beautiful, but it was too dry. Next time I will definitely double the amount of oil. Maybe I will cut back on some water too, using only 1/2 cup for 1/4 of the recipe, since the dough was ridiculously sticky (hence the additional amount of flour used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeacockPanda
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
So good! I used a mix of all purpose flour, oat flour, whole wheat flour and unbleached bread flour. Used canola oil and almond oil and topped with flax seed. Only needed about 20 minutes in the oven. I also did a 6 strand braid. Fantastic bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States