Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I've been searching for a long time for an exceptionally good challah recipe, and this is the closest I've found and have happily added it to the family recipe book. I make it precisely as directed and it never disappoints. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I make it all the time! A perfect replacement for the $6 challah bread I used to buy from WholeFoods. My daughter begs me to use it for French toast. Also it is very easy to add stuff like raisins, garlic, rosemary, chippers....and make smaller loaves. Just make sure to decrease the temperature and timing when they are smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This bread turned out excellent. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the most amazing Challah we have made. We tried lots of recipes but this has worked best for our family. We added a little more honey to taste. It keeps coming out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is a amazing recipe but I recommend to ignore the bake time the proper way to check if it is done is knock on it if it sounds hollow it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I loved this challah and so did my family! It was sweet, and had a great texture. I halved the recipe and changed a couple of things: 1. I added more honey and used 1 egg and 2 yolks as another person suggested. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable and it turned out amazing! Really beautiful to look at and even more wonderful taste. Thank you SO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Zielinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doczues
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made excellent Challah, followed recipe exactly and got two great loaves from it. Everyone loved it and need to make more already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doczues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Recipe was exact. Only had a problem with the braiding. But watched the video a couple of times and that worked great. Will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkWayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaver, Alabama, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My first attempt at challah was an epic failure, so I tried this recipe. Was so excited that it worked! Thanks for the helpful video. The flavor was nice, but I may try some of the variations people have posted in their reviews because I love experimenting with food and making it my own. I started the mixing process with my mixer then went to my hands to incorporate more than eight cups of flour. This gave me a good feel for the dough because I didn't want to add too much flour, but it probably took an additional cup. I tented my bread after twenty minutes and shortened the cook time by five minutes. Next time I may tent at fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzannesm
Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wonderful recipe as is. Have made it a few times off off the instruction. Recently, I started adding herbs to the bread to change the flavor with the meals. Still az among and I don't need to add anything other the how I want it to taste. Everyone loves it ad it makes enough to do a six bread and even the circle challah styles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States