Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe. It kills everytime! My whole family looks forward to when I cook this. My one tip though: bake at 350 degrees instead of 375. At 375 the bottom gets too hard to even bite! At 350 it's and pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
When I was making the bread I thought it odd that there were only 3 eggs in the recipe when I've seen others call for 5-7 eggs, but I brushed off my concerne because of all the positive reviews. I wish I had listened to my instincts. Although my challah came out looking beautiful, once I let it rest and sliced into it I knew right away it wasn't quite right. The bread was far too dry, and dense even though I used less flour than the recipe called for. I also couldn't taste sweetness/egg in the bread at all. Not a total loss because I will use it for a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Overall, easy to make and good consistency, but lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Wow. Basically "no fail"... I bought local grocery challah & didn't deem any of it worthy of the huge dinner I needed to prepare. So on a wing & a prayer, I whipped up 6 batches back to back of this recipe. I think I might've goofed sometimes, and the church ovens vary in temp consistency. Of the 12 loaves, two were smooth despite braiding, some rose more than others, some got a bit dark on the bottom. But I didn't get a single complaint. Very pleased the loaves "reunited as one" beneath the braid bumps. (vs. breaking apart when sliced) Baked on Thursday, cooled then chilled in foil & plastic wrap, warmed in foil on Saturday -- came out like fresh baked. Perfect slightly sweet compliment to kugel by Ann, roasted vegetables by Saundra, and an offsite brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Great recipe. My breads were way too dense before this one. I make one giant Challah. I pair it with honey butter by softening the butter and it mixing it with honey. I then let the butter harden in the fridge. I top off the bread with a wash of two eggs yolks and a tablespoon of water, poppy seeds, and a sprinkling of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Above expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This may be the best challah bread recipe I have tried to date. The flavor was good and the texture perfect, especially for bread puddings and French toast which is one of the reasons I make it. I only made half the recipe and used two whole eggs. Four cups of flour makes a big enough loaf of bread for us. Because Thanksgiving is coming, just for a chuckle, I thought I’d attempt to make a turkey shaped loaf of bread getting in the “Respect the Bird” spirit of AR. Thank you for sharing not only a delicious recipe, but a great adult version of Playdough. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Suzanne G.
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
THE ULTIMATE CHALLAH RECIPE. This is the one I will now use and pass down to my children. Thank you so much for the most wonderful challah bread recipe - and I have tried LOTS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very delicious! This was so soft. Cover the bread after baking it for 15 minutes as it was quite dark after 20 minutes. Would definitely make again and maybe into bread for sandwiches. If so, cut down the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. It was delicious. The recipe will need more flour and less baking time. About 25min at 375°F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States