Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Just how I remember the smell and taste of this bread as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
After first rise, you can refrigerate overnight which makes braiding much easier but allow for extra rise time using the finger indent test. I glaze with 1 egg, 1T olive oil and 1T white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I've never had Challah and so don't know what it actually taste like. Followed recipe, bread came out nice but taste a little bland for me. Thanks for sharing anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe is perfect. It makes two delicious loaves of challah. I don't add or change anything about it and it comes out perfect every time. Every one who has tried it asks me to make it again and my kids have some much fun with braiding it. Thanks for the delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is the BEST! I'm no longer allowed to come to Shabbat dinner without bringing this Challah. What I've tweaked: the honey--I normally count to four while pouring it out. And I disregard the flour amount. I use as much as the weather requires. DO NOT change the amount of oil, I tried and it came out with disastrous results! Thank you thank you, I'm now the favorite guest and no Friday night dinner party starts without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Delicious and super easy. It wasn't quite the same density of the challah I'm used to from the Jewish bakery but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This came out so well! I made a big round loaf (halved the recipe, braided it, made the braid into a circle) and added in cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Great recipe, this bread tastes wonderful and is simple to make. I always just make a half batch so I end up with one large loaf. It seems I end up adding about an extra half cup-three quarters cup of flour (beyond the amount the recipe calls for) while kneading to make this dough not too sticky. I highly recommend this recipe, it makes for great sandwich bread and french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
made a 1.5 loaf recipe for Easter... broke bread with friends...delicious! I used golden raisins and sesame seeds, accidentally added more honey than the recipe, it was a happy accident, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
fabulous! i did make some changes, used warm milk instead of water, butter instead of oil and added an extra egg. i also sprinkled tops with salt. i plan to make this one of my main bread recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States