Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mamihdezof2bonitos
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Just made this. Only waited 30mins to let cool ( couldn't wait) and it's nice fluffy and a tad sweetness from the honey on the inside. And a nice crust on the outside. Mine don't look as pretty( not good at the braid on bread thing) but still delicious. And once I get the braid down. Be perfect. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamihdezof2bonitos

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I've never had challah bread before so I'm not sure what it's supposed to be like, but this was kind of dry. It makes really good toast though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I halved the recipe and added step 1 ingredients to my Sunbeam Bread Machine and set it on "dough" setting. When cycle was complete I continued with steps 2-5. The texture was fantastic. I would have given this five stars, but the recipe is time consuming (but worth it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Ugh! I attempted to make this recipe into a round challah for Rosh Hashanah and I am glad I decided to do this a day early so I can still go buy one! I couldn't get the dough to be the right consistency and it didn't rise.... it just spread out and came out bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very nice recipe. Love it. Unfortunately, where I live (Køge, Denmark) one cannot purchase active dry yeast at a grocery store (one is stuck with purchasing fresh yeast, which is a lot trickier). I did manage to tweak the fresh yeast, and it worked. Also, I brushed the egg on *before* letting it rise that second time, and I substituted sesame seeds for poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this recipe twice- the first time i followed it exactly and it came out nicely- a little too much flour. The second time i decided to let it rise overnight, kneading it twice. Big mistake!! It never rerose to it's original rising peak and it cane out much smaller than last time!! Once again, tastes floury. Some positive suggestions would be to add an apple in 1/2 inch cubes and raisons- both of which i rolled around in cinnamon sugar!! Also, top the challah with a bit of cinnamon sugar after you glaze it with egg! Gave it a nice sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Bread burned at 30 minutes on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Thatcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I've been searching for a long time for an exceptionally good challah recipe, and this is the closest I've found and have happily added it to the family recipe book. I make it precisely as directed and it never disappoints. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I make it all the time! A perfect replacement for the $6 challah bread I used to buy from WholeFoods. My daughter begs me to use it for French toast. Also it is very easy to add stuff like raisins, garlic, rosemary, chippers....and make smaller loaves. Just make sure to decrease the temperature and timing when they are smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This bread turned out excellent. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rohne Flaig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States