Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Flor
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is an absolute 5 star recipe! COmes out great EVERY time! I add chopped onion and chopped parsley. It turns out moist and tasty! I keep making it every Friday! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is a really great Challah recipe! The only thing is that the baking time too long. It usually only takes between 20 and 30 minutes (about 25 when the dough is divided into 3 loaves). You can tell when they are done when the braid starts to stretch in the middle and you can see white. Then it will be nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Thank you for the recipe,it turned even better than I've expected ,my hubby thought I got them from a bakery. They took only 30 min to cook though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I made this bread yesterday! I used wheat flour instead of white. It was light and fluffy and turned out perfect! Everyone LOVED IT! I did not seperate the yokes from the white when sperading it on the bread before baking and had no problems as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Of course I made a few changes. I added 3/4 cup of honey along with 3 eggs. I also let the bread rise three times. The first time and hour, the second time 1/2 hour, braid and brush with egg wash then rise a third time for one hour. This is a large recipe so I make 4 smaller loaves and freeze 3 of them after they are braided. Allow 5 hours to thaw and rise then bake. I also reduced the baking temperature to 350 and reduced the baking time to 15-18 minutes for the smaller breads. Thanks for this recipe. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Wonderful bread - thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I don't make bread often so I was a little scared to make this but it turned out great and I can't wait for it to cool down! I'm going to eat it right now! Although I don't know if anybody made this mistake but I put a little of the egg mixture on the bottom of the dough as well as the top, it was a bad idea... the bread ended up sticking to the pan! It did eventually get scraped off, but was annoying to do so don't make my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnomLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Really, good, but I see the recipe has changed slightly since I printed it out originally. I multiple the recipe to use 4 eggs, and make 4 small loaves. We also add chocolate chips to the batter, and use 1/3 whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This bread was AMAZING! I cut down the servings from 30 to 20 and kept the eggs the same. I put all the ingredients in my bread machine and turned on the dough cycle. When that was done I punched it down, kneaded it for a while, and then braided it into one large loaf. I only baked it for 25 mins, the full 40 would have definitely burnt it. It was picture perfect! I cannot wait to make french toast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I followed as directed but my bread was very dense and dry. I don't know what I did wrong. First time making it and probably the last. After all that hard work, I was disappointed. Will not complain next time I splurge $6 for a 2lb challah loaf from the local jewish bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States