Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
ADDED 1 TEA VANILLA ALL SO 3/4 HONEY WAS THE BEST CHALLAH I EVER MADE THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I followed Feeding Frenzy's idea's as well as the recipe itself. We got two perfect loaves my husband and I just LOVE!!! Great challah. I will certainly make it again. Thanks for the recipe, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is a wonderful bread... sometimes I add golden raisins, cinnamon, or nuts. IF you have any leftover a few days after baking - it makes a delicious french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is my go to for bread I make one huge loaf for family get together I love using the honey but sometimes I'll use sorghum molasses instead of the honey and it comes out this beautiful caramel color and tastes great. It it a always comes out right recipe for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Too dry and tasted like bland white bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I halved the recipe and put the ingredients in a bread machine on the dough cycle. When the cycle finished, I simply made the braid and impressed the guests. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
my family loved this bread and i enjoyed making it. it definitely did not need 40 minutes in the oven though. mine was done at 30 and the loaf that was on the top was a little overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is the best Challah recipe I have come across! I TRIPLE the honey as my family has a sweet tooth AND it makes the bread super-delicious! Additionally, I always make two loaves from this one recipe. I braid each loaf seperately and cook each individually. I have found that cooking each smaller loaf seperately AND AT A LOWER TEMP (335 for 30 minutes) makes the bread perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made 1/4 of the recipe, ending up with 8 buns. I used half a packet of quick rise yeast, doubled the honey, used 1 whole egg, & used 1.5 cups white bread flour + 1 cup all purpose flour. The texture of the buns was beautiful, but it was too dry. Next time I will definitely double the amount of oil. Maybe I will cut back on some water too, using only 1/2 cup for 1/4 of the recipe, since the dough was ridiculously sticky (hence the additional amount of flour used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States