Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Too dry and tasted like bland white bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I halved the recipe and put the ingredients in a bread machine on the dough cycle. When the cycle finished, I simply made the braid and impressed the guests. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
my family loved this bread and i enjoyed making it. it definitely did not need 40 minutes in the oven though. mine was done at 30 and the loaf that was on the top was a little overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is the best Challah recipe I have come across! I TRIPLE the honey as my family has a sweet tooth AND it makes the bread super-delicious! Additionally, I always make two loaves from this one recipe. I braid each loaf seperately and cook each individually. I have found that cooking each smaller loaf seperately AND AT A LOWER TEMP (335 for 30 minutes) makes the bread perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made 1/4 of the recipe, ending up with 8 buns. I used half a packet of quick rise yeast, doubled the honey, used 1 whole egg, & used 1.5 cups white bread flour + 1 cup all purpose flour. The texture of the buns was beautiful, but it was too dry. Next time I will definitely double the amount of oil. Maybe I will cut back on some water too, using only 1/2 cup for 1/4 of the recipe, since the dough was ridiculously sticky (hence the additional amount of flour used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeacockPanda
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
So good! I used a mix of all purpose flour, oat flour, whole wheat flour and unbleached bread flour. Used canola oil and almond oil and topped with flax seed. Only needed about 20 minutes in the oven. I also did a 6 strand braid. Fantastic bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I am just beginning to venture into the art of bread-making and this was my first try at challah bread. It came out beautifully and tastes just as good as any bakery bought challah I've had. I added just a tablespoon of sugar to give it some more flavor and I'm delighted with the results, though my father feels that the recipe is a bit bland. I will definitely make this again, though I think the recipe can be tweaked here and there for some sensational results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
We (embarrasingly) ate two loaves of this in one night! Beware: It's completely addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Tr
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Every time I make this recipe it is a big hit.I follow the recipe exactly except that I use either all whole wheat or mostly whole wheat flour and I leave off the poppy-seeds. It also seems to bake MUCH faster then the recipe suggest that it will. I usually take it out at 25 minutes and it's perfectly done. I don't know if this is because I bake it on a pizza stone. I like peoples ideas with adding honey to the glaze. Maybe I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Tr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lherman
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Amazing flavor. Perfect bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lherman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States