Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This recipe is easy and perfect as is. The only problem (which is kind of a big one...) is that after only 25 minutes in the oven at 375, the bottom of the loaves were burnt. The rest of the loaf is prefect though, so oh well! Definitely make it, just keep an eye on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla Alura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I have never made bread from scratch before, so I was preparing for a failure of a challah. I followed this recipe to the T and it came out amazing! I ended up with two beautiful and delicious round challahs – on for Rosh Hashanah, the other for the freezer. I would highly recommend this recipe for beginners and experts alike. I was astounded when my final product looked like a challah from the inside and outside and tasted like a challah. It was perfectly sweet in a subtle way and airy as a challah should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I have made challah bread with my dad a couple times from recipe books but they were always too dry or not flavorful enough. I just made this bread 2 days ago and after figuring out how to activate the yeast without killing them, the bread came out wonderfully! Rose beautifully, added about 3/4 cup honey which was perfect and next time I may add an extra egg yolk or 2 like the latest review did to make it more yellow and eggier in the middle. I introduced my 10 housemates to challah bread and made french toast with it tonight and everyone has gobbled it up and I also loved it and I am super picky when it comes to challah. It'd be great with raisins or cinnamon and sugar too! I'm definitely experimenting next time with one of the loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I followed the first review that so many found helpful and my bread was very flavorful- but very dense and the texture was all wrong. I'm sure the original is much better and I will be trying that next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweatness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I have been making bread for years and was looking for some different ideas. I grew the yeast in warm milk and honey before adding it to the mix. I also put foil over for the last 20 minutes but followed the rest of the recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweets
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Thought this bread turned out great. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This recipe make A TON of bread! It's great, I halved the recipe, and may quarter it next time. Also, it only needed to bake for about 35 minutes, so keep an eye on it! Another tip, grease the pan really well, mine stuck some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Love this recipe. lovely flavor with a bit of sweetness to it. i definitely added extra flour to get the right consistency and the ability to divide and roll into strands that could be braided. this was perfect for Rosh Hashanah with raisins added in on roll out. i sprinkled with poppy seeds after i brushed on the egg at the end. really dense, moist and super flavorful. loved it! and so did the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
It is amazing and easy to do. Made the dough in my bread machine. My family loved it! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie Bohbot Davis
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
First time I made bread and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States