Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very delicious! This was so soft. Cover the bread after baking it for 15 minutes as it was quite dark after 20 minutes. Would definitely make again and maybe into bread for sandwiches. If so, cut down the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. It was delicious. The recipe will need more flour and less baking time. About 25min at 375°F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This bread is great for bread pudding and sandwiches! It is not too sweet or too eggy. The honey gives it a wonderful scent that is not overpowering. The bread came out beautifully the first time I tried it and even my very picky sister liked it better than my mother's egg bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Turns out beautiful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I have prepared this recipe so many times, I am back to print a new one! It is very good just as written. I have halved it, doubled it , frozen the dough, frozen the baked loaf and it is always delicious! It does bake quicker in my oven too, usually about 30 minutes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaBeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tekoa, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! I made 1 change though. Instead of using the whole egg, I only used the yolk. I think next time, I would skip the egg wash and use oil or butter. Overall, this is about as authentic as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This recipe is easy and perfect as is. The only problem (which is kind of a big one...) is that after only 25 minutes in the oven at 375, the bottom of the loaves were burnt. The rest of the loaf is prefect though, so oh well! Definitely make it, just keep an eye on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla Alura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I have never made bread from scratch before, so I was preparing for a failure of a challah. I followed this recipe to the T and it came out amazing! I ended up with two beautiful and delicious round challahs – on for Rosh Hashanah, the other for the freezer. I would highly recommend this recipe for beginners and experts alike. I was astounded when my final product looked like a challah from the inside and outside and tasted like a challah. It was perfectly sweet in a subtle way and airy as a challah should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I have made challah bread with my dad a couple times from recipe books but they were always too dry or not flavorful enough. I just made this bread 2 days ago and after figuring out how to activate the yeast without killing them, the bread came out wonderfully! Rose beautifully, added about 3/4 cup honey which was perfect and next time I may add an extra egg yolk or 2 like the latest review did to make it more yellow and eggier in the middle. I introduced my 10 housemates to challah bread and made french toast with it tonight and everyone has gobbled it up and I also loved it and I am super picky when it comes to challah. It'd be great with raisins or cinnamon and sugar too! I'm definitely experimenting next time with one of the loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I followed the first review that so many found helpful and my bread was very flavorful- but very dense and the texture was all wrong. I'm sure the original is much better and I will be trying that next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweatness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States