Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
incredibly good! tip: activate the yeast in the warm water with 1 tsp of sugar while you blend with wire attachment for kitchen aid the eggs, honey, oil and salt. then blend the yeast and water (and sugar) mix in. switch to dough hook and add 1 c of flour at a time. I got to the perfect consistency at 5 and 1/2 c of flour and the loaves were better than any homemade bread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
this bread is amazing, the taste is fantastic!! My husband made it and we devoured it!! he used 3/4c of honey instead of 1/2c. and he added cranberries the 2nd time he made it. It looks beautiful and it has become a family favourite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was my first time making bread EVER, and it turned out perfect! =D It even looks like it was made in a bakery. I'd recommend it to anyone. It is a little flavorless (b/c its bread not cake), so if you want you can add salt, sugar, raisins, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
did anyone else find they needed to add way more flour in order to knead? my dough was farrr too sticky with only 8 cups of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe. It kills everytime! My whole family looks forward to when I cook this. My one tip though: bake at 350 degrees instead of 375. At 375 the bottom gets too hard to even bite! At 350 it's and pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
When I was making the bread I thought it odd that there were only 3 eggs in the recipe when I've seen others call for 5-7 eggs, but I brushed off my concerne because of all the positive reviews. I wish I had listened to my instincts. Although my challah came out looking beautiful, once I let it rest and sliced into it I knew right away it wasn't quite right. The bread was far too dry, and dense even though I used less flour than the recipe called for. I also couldn't taste sweetness/egg in the bread at all. Not a total loss because I will use it for a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Overall, easy to make and good consistency, but lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Wow. Basically "no fail"... I bought local grocery challah & didn't deem any of it worthy of the huge dinner I needed to prepare. So on a wing & a prayer, I whipped up 6 batches back to back of this recipe. I think I might've goofed sometimes, and the church ovens vary in temp consistency. Of the 12 loaves, two were smooth despite braiding, some rose more than others, some got a bit dark on the bottom. But I didn't get a single complaint. Very pleased the loaves "reunited as one" beneath the braid bumps. (vs. breaking apart when sliced) Baked on Thursday, cooled then chilled in foil & plastic wrap, warmed in foil on Saturday -- came out like fresh baked. Perfect slightly sweet compliment to kugel by Ann, roasted vegetables by Saundra, and an offsite brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Great recipe. My breads were way too dense before this one. I make one giant Challah. I pair it with honey butter by softening the butter and it mixing it with honey. I then let the butter harden in the fridge. I top off the bread with a wash of two eggs yolks and a tablespoon of water, poppy seeds, and a sprinkling of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Above expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States