Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Holy cow. A while back, I decided I was going to learn how to bake bread, and this was the first recipe I used. I had four roommates and a number of friends over at any given time, so every time I made this, it was gone well before anybody went home or to bed. I was thrilled at how easy it was to make! One time, I was out of honey, so I tried molasses instead. It gave it a unique, but no less delicious, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made this over the holidays and it turned out wonderful! I made it exactly how mentioned except I made three loaves instead of two...wonderful recipe and easy. Thanks Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
this was so easy. Followed the recipe exactly and it tastes great. Mine wasn't as egg-y as the bakery though. Made 2 enormorous braids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by herbwife
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Now THIS is traditional Challah! Delicious and so easy to make that even a 12 year old child can do it (my little one often makes it, and without my help). We make it every week for Shabbat. It's so good that our non-Jewish friends rave about it and several have standing orders. And left-over Challah (if you are lucky enough to have any) makes for the most divine French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this Challah for 800 people (that's right, 800!!) and it was a HIT. It was loved by all. I added 3 eggs instead of 2, 1 cup of honey instead of 1/2 (which makes the dough super sticky and harder to work with but well worth it in the end) and lots of golden raisins that I allowed to plump in hot water before adding to the dough. I added a little honey to the egg wash and then sprinkled with poppy seeds. (I used a bread machine to do all of the kneading and raising for me since I had so many loaves to do.) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
wasn't in love with this recipe, followed exactly. It was more dense and crumbly than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
incredibly good! tip: activate the yeast in the warm water with 1 tsp of sugar while you blend with wire attachment for kitchen aid the eggs, honey, oil and salt. then blend the yeast and water (and sugar) mix in. switch to dough hook and add 1 c of flour at a time. I got to the perfect consistency at 5 and 1/2 c of flour and the loaves were better than any homemade bread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
this bread is amazing, the taste is fantastic!! My husband made it and we devoured it!! he used 3/4c of honey instead of 1/2c. and he added cranberries the 2nd time he made it. It looks beautiful and it has become a family favourite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was my first time making bread EVER, and it turned out perfect! =D It even looks like it was made in a bakery. I'd recommend it to anyone. It is a little flavorless (b/c its bread not cake), so if you want you can add salt, sugar, raisins, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
did anyone else find they needed to add way more flour in order to knead? my dough was farrr too sticky with only 8 cups of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States