Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Great recipe. My breads were way too dense before this one. I make one giant Challah. I pair it with honey butter by softening the butter and it mixing it with honey. I then let the butter harden in the fridge. I top off the bread with a wash of two eggs yolks and a tablespoon of water, poppy seeds, and a sprinkling of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Above expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This may be the best challah bread recipe I have tried to date. The flavor was good and the texture perfect, especially for bread puddings and French toast which is one of the reasons I make it. I only made half the recipe and used two whole eggs. Four cups of flour makes a big enough loaf of bread for us. Because Thanksgiving is coming, just for a chuckle, I thought I’d attempt to make a turkey shaped loaf of bread getting in the “Respect the Bird” spirit of AR. Thank you for sharing not only a delicious recipe, but a great adult version of Playdough. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Suzanne G.
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
THE ULTIMATE CHALLAH RECIPE. This is the one I will now use and pass down to my children. Thank you so much for the most wonderful challah bread recipe - and I have tried LOTS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very delicious! This was so soft. Cover the bread after baking it for 15 minutes as it was quite dark after 20 minutes. Would definitely make again and maybe into bread for sandwiches. If so, cut down the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe. It was delicious. The recipe will need more flour and less baking time. About 25min at 375°F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This bread is great for bread pudding and sandwiches! It is not too sweet or too eggy. The honey gives it a wonderful scent that is not overpowering. The bread came out beautifully the first time I tried it and even my very picky sister liked it better than my mother's egg bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Turns out beautiful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I have prepared this recipe so many times, I am back to print a new one! It is very good just as written. I have halved it, doubled it , frozen the dough, frozen the baked loaf and it is always delicious! It does bake quicker in my oven too, usually about 30 minutes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaBeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tekoa, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! I made 1 change though. Instead of using the whole egg, I only used the yolk. I think next time, I would skip the egg wash and use oil or butter. Overall, this is about as authentic as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States