Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by anothersmith
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It was a little denser than I expected, but I suppose if I let it rise a little longer that *might* solve the problem? Flavor was really good, looked just beautiful! Used it the next morning for French toast - again, a little dense for that, but the flavor was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parnyparn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I halved the recipe used 1 whole egg and 3 yolks and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I don't usually rate, but this recipe made it nearly impossible. It came out absolutely perfect. This will be one of my new favorite bread recipes and everyone LOVED it. So happy I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Crowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I agree with other reviewers that the dough was too sticky so I had to add more flour. I made this recipe for the first time last year for a Christmas party and it was a huge hit! it was nice and soft in the middle and a little more firm on the crust....... tastes great by itself or with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The bread turned out great, but the braids melded together losing the beautiful braided appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tale Eriksen Voldseth
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great Challah recipe! I altered it by adding one more egg, reduced the baking time by 7 minutes and added some honey to the eggwash :) I also covered it with foil after 20 minutes to reduce the amount of browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Finally perfected this recipe so I could make the dough in my bread machine and cut some work out. I cut the recipe in half and and used 1/2 cup honey. I added the ingredients per the manufacturers instructions into my bread machine. Set the dough cycle, and magic! Rolled out the dough and braided it, cooking time for me is usually about 30 minutes! Best Bread Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodielove76
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very easy recipe to follow especially for those who are new to baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I halved the recipe and followed the recommendations from one of the reviews but the bread was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States