Chalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I thought this was fantastic! Made it with full oil too. Great as is, but may try the tomatoes and even potatoes as suggested in other comments for a different taste. Also, might want to pump up the cayenne as it wasn't very spicy dish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe. I was worried about it being too watery at first so i let it cook an extra 10 minutes. once it was finished i put the rice on a platter and poured the meat and gravy down the middle making a straight line. i added some cilantro around the side for decoration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. While I was eating it I said, "This tastes like something I'd order at a restaurant!" The modifications I made were to cut the water to 1/2 cup and add 8 oz. of tomato sauce. I also added a dash of poultry seasoning, two dashes of paprika, cornstarch to thicken, a lot of chopped mushrooms, a handful of snowpeas, and a couple handfuls of fresh Italian parsley. I served it not with rice, but with Indian Naan bread (from a recipe on this site) Wowie! Thank you for this gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solna, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
SUPERB, EXCELLENT, INCREDIBLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Excellent - I made a couple of small adjustments. I am trying to cut down on oil, so I used just a short pour of oil(worked fine, you don't need it to cook the onions and the fat from the meat is more than plenty to add the richness) I dredged the meat in flour before browning it to give it a bit more caramelizing (and because it helps the meat to hold it's juice, it is every bit as tender). I added Chick Peas. I added a bit of the chickpea liquid as I went on because the sauce was getting a bit cooked down, and it helped both with making more of a sauce, but also the starch thickened it nicely. I think both the Cilantro and Spinach could be substitutes with any non-sweet leafy green - I like the bitter green in things like this, but I am sure others prefer the less assertive spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was excellent. I did follow some other reviewer suggestions, though: I used much less oil - not quite a 1/4 of a cup, I coated the beef in seasoned (cumin, pepper, cayenne pepper) flour, and I added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. As with most sauces/stews, it's even better the next day. Works well with the Indian Basmati Rice on this site, and would probably be good over noodles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Very good. The oil was little much, so I cut back on that, and I used ground beef, of course. Overall it was a very, very nice change from typical dinner fare. Filling and hearty, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
First off, to anyone who might be turned off by all of the oil called for in this recipe, it is DEFINITELY not necessary. I used about 2 tbsps for the stew and another 2 tbsps for the rice and it came out DELICIOUS! I love this dish! Lamb, spinach, cilantro? How can you go wrong? Five stars! Six, if I could because it's also low in fat (if you cut out all the oil which, like I said, isn't necessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I can't remember if gave a review for this recipe. This is a wonderful recipe. The ingredients are staples in my home. The flavors are subtle. I used chicken for this recipe and cook it for the same amount of time. I eyeball the spices everything is in harmony with each other. I toss in fresh spinach but, frozen spinach goes over just fine too. *chomps licking good*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe with two small exceptions. I used a little less oil and I thickened it a little with some cornstarch. Great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States