Chalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
SUPERB, EXCELLENT, INCREDIBLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Pretty good hearty meal. I added potatos, and it was really very nice. The spices seemed odd, but complimented the lamb nicely. The only thing I'd do different next time is add some broth or tomatos, or something with more juice. It cooked down a little too much for my taste. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Decent dish, sub ground beef, pork, or lamb and it's as economical as it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was very good. Rather different for my family, who isn't used to eating lamb, but good. I was skeptical about the spinach addition, but it worked well, the lamb was VERY tender. I served it over rice. I accidentally grabbed parsley instead of cilantro but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Excellent - I made a couple of small adjustments. I am trying to cut down on oil, so I used just a short pour of oil(worked fine, you don't need it to cook the onions and the fat from the meat is more than plenty to add the richness) I dredged the meat in flour before browning it to give it a bit more caramelizing (and because it helps the meat to hold it's juice, it is every bit as tender). I added Chick Peas. I added a bit of the chickpea liquid as I went on because the sauce was getting a bit cooked down, and it helped both with making more of a sauce, but also the starch thickened it nicely. I think both the Cilantro and Spinach could be substitutes with any non-sweet leafy green - I like the bitter green in things like this, but I am sure others prefer the less assertive spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was excellent. I did follow some other reviewer suggestions, though: I used much less oil - not quite a 1/4 of a cup, I coated the beef in seasoned (cumin, pepper, cayenne pepper) flour, and I added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. As with most sauces/stews, it's even better the next day. Works well with the Indian Basmati Rice on this site, and would probably be good over noodles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Very good. The oil was little much, so I cut back on that, and I used ground beef, of course. Overall it was a very, very nice change from typical dinner fare. Filling and hearty, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
First off, to anyone who might be turned off by all of the oil called for in this recipe, it is DEFINITELY not necessary. I used about 2 tbsps for the stew and another 2 tbsps for the rice and it came out DELICIOUS! I love this dish! Lamb, spinach, cilantro? How can you go wrong? Five stars! Six, if I could because it's also low in fat (if you cut out all the oil which, like I said, isn't necessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was nice. It has a very mild flavor and the cayenne (I used red pepper) adds a nice little kick. However,It was not too hot for my one year old. Its a nice balance. I took the advice of other reviewers and floured my meat. It caused the meat to stick a little but it did not burn. Once I added the water it made a wonderful gravy for the meat to simmer in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This recipe was very good. I had to use beef instead of lamb because I couldn't find it at the store. I can't wait to make it with lamb next time. I'm sure it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States