Chalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe with two small exceptions. I used a little less oil and I thickened it a little with some cornstarch. Great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I can't remember if gave a review for this recipe. This is a wonderful recipe. The ingredients are staples in my home. The flavors are subtle. I used chicken for this recipe and cook it for the same amount of time. I eyeball the spices everything is in harmony with each other. I toss in fresh spinach but, frozen spinach goes over just fine too. *chomps licking good*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy7252
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I really liked this recipe. It's a nice break from the typical dinner because the taste is quite different. Next time I make it, I'm going to add more cumin, cayenne, and pepper because I thought it was a little bit bland as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Good flavors but it came out too watery...I recommend to cut down on the water just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This recipe was very good. I had to use beef instead of lamb because I couldn't find it at the store. I can't wait to make it with lamb next time. I'm sure it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was nice. It has a very mild flavor and the cayenne (I used red pepper) adds a nice little kick. However,It was not too hot for my one year old. Its a nice balance. I took the advice of other reviewers and floured my meat. It caused the meat to stick a little but it did not burn. Once I added the water it made a wonderful gravy for the meat to simmer in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
First off, to anyone who might be turned off by all of the oil called for in this recipe, it is DEFINITELY not necessary. I used about 2 tbsps for the stew and another 2 tbsps for the rice and it came out DELICIOUS! I love this dish! Lamb, spinach, cilantro? How can you go wrong? Five stars! Six, if I could because it's also low in fat (if you cut out all the oil which, like I said, isn't necessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Very good. The oil was little much, so I cut back on that, and I used ground beef, of course. Overall it was a very, very nice change from typical dinner fare. Filling and hearty, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was excellent. I did follow some other reviewer suggestions, though: I used much less oil - not quite a 1/4 of a cup, I coated the beef in seasoned (cumin, pepper, cayenne pepper) flour, and I added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. As with most sauces/stews, it's even better the next day. Works well with the Indian Basmati Rice on this site, and would probably be good over noodles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Excellent - I made a couple of small adjustments. I am trying to cut down on oil, so I used just a short pour of oil(worked fine, you don't need it to cook the onions and the fat from the meat is more than plenty to add the richness) I dredged the meat in flour before browning it to give it a bit more caramelizing (and because it helps the meat to hold it's juice, it is every bit as tender). I added Chick Peas. I added a bit of the chickpea liquid as I went on because the sauce was getting a bit cooked down, and it helped both with making more of a sauce, but also the starch thickened it nicely. I think both the Cilantro and Spinach could be substitutes with any non-sweet leafy green - I like the bitter green in things like this, but I am sure others prefer the less assertive spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States