Chakchouka (Shakshouka) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Awesome recipe! Turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Wow. A recipe that is tasty, easy, quick, DELICIOUS, cheap, healthy, and has easy clean up? Pinch me. I have to be dreaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this today, with a couple small changes due to what I had on hand. I only had green onions, so used those, and also used a whole red habanero instead of a chili pepper. I had a couple Morningstar veggie sausage patties I browned up and crumbled in it, too, and served it for lunch over ready-to-serve Italian Minute Rice. The only thing we decided I'd do differently is cook less time once the eggs are in, because we'd prefer a runnier yolk. Other than that, my husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My husband came home from Israel raving about this dish. Used this recipe and it was fantastic. I double, triple or even quadruple the sauce, then freeze it in batches so we can have it regularly without having to chop onion first thing in the morning. I sometimes substitute shallots for the onion because I prefer shallots, but it is delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I have made this for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It works for any time of the day. The flavors in this meld so well together. The only change I make is omitting the hot pepper, I just use a little cayenne pepper for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nory143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I cooked this dish for my new in-laws (and I am VERY new to cooking!) I studied abroad in Israel, and I wanted to make something special and different. I thought "chakcouka" would be awesome if I could pull it off ...This recipe is perfect! The directions were easy to follow, it was colorful, flavorful, and delicious. I will be making it again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Tripled the garlic and added a little cheese at the end. Great breakfast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is an execellent meal. Easy to make and not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I added some mushrooms to the onions and the garlic which turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Maybe it was the lack of paprika, but the mixture as a whole turned out rather watery and tasteless. I followed the recipe fairly exactly - perhaps I should have give the chopped tomatoes more time to dry out and pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States