Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I love having Chai tea at coffee houses and this comes close! Next time I will blend better as I had residue from the spices in the cup. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I LOVE this mix. It is better than the Tazo Chai I tried at our local Starbucks. Next time I'll leave out the cloves, because cloves tend to overpower the taste. I added 1/2 t. white pepper and 1 t. allspice. I also used decaffienated tea. I didn't add the cardomom because it was too expensive. My husband and I love a cup made with skim milk each evening. I gave jars to my girlfriends and received rave reviews and recipe requests from each of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Oh my gosh is this stuff great. My husband even likes it and he doesn't like tea! I plan to pack it in jelly jars and give as christmas gifts! Thank you soooo much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
The mix turned out great. It taste very good. People loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROJAMIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
The best! I first bought some chai tea mix at a coffee shop, and then searched everywhere for a recipe. This recipe matches the taste perfectly (except I cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups). Don't be put off by the expense of the cardamom -- it's worth it. If using a blender, mix ingredients with a fork first, then blend only about a cup and a half at a time. Also, be sure to blend it really well (because the spices can get kind of chunky in your drink).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I made this last night and it was so easy and it tastes wonderful. I was skeptical and I scalled it down to one to try it. I also tried the Shemakes Chai Tea and this one was much better. I didn't use the cardamom (the store didn't have ground). I also added the recommended white pepper and 1 teaspoon of apple pie spice (I was out of allspice). This is such a good recipe. Be sure to do the blender/food processor step it is very important (the single serving size I skipped the blending and the end result was not near as appealing). One other thing: I added 1 T. vanilla sugar to this and it really spiked the flavor. Thanks again for sharing this gift idea. I think I'm now hooked because I'm having some as I type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
So easy and everyone loved it. I gave these as teacher gifts in little jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I had never tried chai before, largely because I associated it with soy milk (something I don't particularly care for). Since this recipe made no metion of the soy milk, I went ahead and made some...and am so glad I did!! This mix has a wonderful aroma and a spectacular taste. It's a lovely change of pace from hot chocolate. I made it using all of the spices called for, minus the white pepper and nutmeg. (I was out of those two.) When I ran out of French vanilla creamer, I used regular creamer and added 2 tsp. of vanilla powder to the mix before blending. This mix will be going in my holiday care packages as well as my pantry! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Have been using Trader Joe's Chai mix but since it's out of the way and I don't often get there, thought I'd try this. Just finished a cup and this is as good, if not better. Couldn't come up with any suggestions to improve it. While the cost of the spices can be prohibitive, they'll last a long time....well into spring. Marvelous recipe....warms the spirit,soothes the soul and tastes like Christmas! :-) TM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Great! Very easy to make. I have been buying Chai tea mix from Smart & Final, but they just lost a good customer! Will make my own now! Thanks and Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 791) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States