Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I gave this recipe 5 stars but I would make a slight change. I did add all the extra spices and cut the sugar to 1-1/2c. I felt the Cardamon was overpowering. Next time I will only use half the suggesteed amount. It is an expensive spice, but try looking in the "International" aisle of your grocery store. I have found that the hispanic section has a nice selection of spices at half the cost. I would also advise using a coffee grinder. You can only grind a half cup at a time, but it's faster than the food processor. Thanks for sharing the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
506 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I just finished making this and am sitting here drinking a cup. What a great recipe and a welcome change from Russian tea. I used all the spices in the recipe plus the recommended additional spices in the header. The only change I made to recipe was to use decaf instant tea and 1 1/2 cups splenda in lieu of 2 1/2 cups of sugar. Thank you to the person who said the blender was messy and to the person who suggested the coffee grinder. This worked perfectly. For those of you making gifts, this recipe makes 4 half pint jars. I am going to suggest on my gift tags that the recipient use 2-3 t. per cup. Next time I am in the grocery store I will be replinishing the ingredients I used up so I can make another batch for me!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Got hooked on chai few months ago when had the flu.Was buying bigelow chai tea bags and stash ones .I also got the nurses and aides at my moms nursing home hooked too.Then found this recipe and made now we all hooked on this they say it better then the tea bags.use splenda blend 1 1/2 c. Also add nutmeg,coriander and allspice. with water is great with milk is fantastic. ********************** even in hot weather now that its summertime still make chai mix but now make up a batch a chai tea in pitcher and have it in fridge as iced chai ,also blend in blender with ice cubes for frozen chai or add to ice cream for milk shake ********************************** made this up as christmas gifts with a bag a homemade cookies everybody loved it. found that if i use a coffee grinder for the spices first get them really ground well than i mix it all up and use my bullet to grind it up it gets done well and no grit at bottom a cup when done drinking it. ***************************************** another year a Christmas gifts of this in a goodie bag with homemade cookies ,fudge,granola everybody loves this chai ****************************************** even in hot summer again made it up as iced chai kept pitcher in fridgr all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Very good blend of spices. I made the recipe exactly as stated, except that I left out the instant tea granules. I'm not a fan of instant tea... So, I just stick a tea bag in a mug of boiling water, mix in about 1 T plus 1 t of the spice and milk mixture, and let it steep for a couple of minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I LOVE this mix. It is better than the Tazo Chai I tried at our local Starbucks. Next time I'll leave out the cloves, because cloves tend to overpower the taste. I added 1/2 t. white pepper and 1 t. allspice. I also used decaffienated tea. I didn't add the cardomom because it was too expensive. My husband and I love a cup made with skim milk each evening. I gave jars to my girlfriends and received rave reviews and recipe requests from each of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I had Chai tea from Tastefully Simple & was hooked!! The price was much too high. I was thrilled to find this recipe. It is fabulous! Great for gift giving also. Adding liquid vanilla to sugar & drying is much less expensive than buying the vanilla flavored creamer. Tastes the same either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
The best! I first bought some chai tea mix at a coffee shop, and then searched everywhere for a recipe. This recipe matches the taste perfectly (except I cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups). Don't be put off by the expense of the cardamom -- it's worth it. If using a blender, mix ingredients with a fork first, then blend only about a cup and a half at a time. Also, be sure to blend it really well (because the spices can get kind of chunky in your drink).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
WOW!!! I love this mix! I will never buy another premade chai tea again! It is next to impossible to find powdered tea up here in Canada, so instead I brewed some black tea and added the mix sans powdered tea. It worked great! Try this....you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This recipe is so wonderful! It tastes just like the mix found in stores (maybe even a little better), is much more cost-effective, and is so easy to make. I cut the sugar down a third, though. It was a little sweet for my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This comes very close to the expensive Chai mixes I have found in gourmet coffee shops. I have decreased the sugar by 1/3, to just one cup and in the future I will probably eliminate the french vanilla creamer and just add powdered vanilla ( vanilin). And this recipe, though, makes a lot more than 16 servings when all ingredients are used. More like 26. Very tasty, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States