Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
The flavor in this is so much more than what you buy in the store. We keep this on our counter every year throughout the winter months. It is wonderful! I use soy milk with mine which is delicious! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TyDy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kittitas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I just made this mix for my daughter & daughter-in-law for Christmas. I tried a cup and I am in love!!! It is amazing and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Goschey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The most surprising thing to me about this was how difficult it is to find plain old unsweetened unflavored instant tea mix! Man o man, I went to about 4 stores before I found it. I don't like cloves, at all, so I subbed in allspice since it's similar but not as strong. I sampled the batch as I made it and found I needed to slightly increase the allspice (instead of cloves) and cinnamon just a little bit. This is really good. I'm giving it to some Chai Tea lovers in my life. Hope they like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Love this recipe! This is the second winter that I have been making it! Made a vanilla caramel batch and a hazelnut batch today by substituting those flavors of creamer for both the vanilla and original creamer. Both were great! Everyone I give some to loves it and wants more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
loved this recipe. I made it and gave it to friends as a housewarming gift, and I make it for me at home & work. Taste great, easy to make, and inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Just finished making this and having my first cup. I mixed 1 tablespoon of vanilla with 1 1/2 cups sugar the night before and let it sit all night. I added some nutmeg to the mix (I'm not sure how much because I was playing with a new spice grinder and it was mixed in with the cardamom) and some star anise. I forgot to get some white pepper so I did add a little black pepper. I did NOT use the vanilla flavored creamer. I prefer making this with some hot milk instead of just water. I think it is still plenty sweet with the cutting the sugar. Will definitely enjoy it this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Career2HomeSchoolMom
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is was not flavorful enough for me. I would def suggest a coffee grinder for the spices. I did not use one. The blender used did not grind up find enough and that possibly led to lack of flavor. When mixed with water, all of the spices came to the top. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Good, simple recipe. The only change I made was to add ground allspice and I did not have any of the vanilla flavored coffee creamer but I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I think non-dairy creamer is creepy so I make this variant of chai mix. I give my version 5 stars! 1 packet dry milk powder (about 1 1/4 cup) 2 1/2 cups white sugar 1 2/3 cups unsweetened decaf instant tea (Nestea) 2 t ginger 2 t cinnamon 1 t cloves 3/4 t cardamom (can skip if too expensive- still tastes good without cardamom) 1 t nutmeg 1 t allspice 1/4 t white pepper Blend in a food processor. To serve stir 2-3 heaping tablespoons into warmed MILK. (Not water!) Get the milk steaming but do not boil. (About 2 min in the microwave for a big 16 oz mug). Without the vanilla it's less sweet - the closest commercial products to the resulting flavor are Oregon Chai's Not-So-Sweet chai mix, or Trader Joe's chai mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I love this recipes! I did cut the sugar as well and i did not use instant tea and instead i put a tea bag of black tea (orange pekoe) in the cup - since chai tea does have black tea in it - and pour that tea into a cup over the chai mix - I LOVE IT and the pekoe is very inexpensive as well - great great GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States