Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Oh. My. Goodness. This is FABULOUS. I seriously can't believe how good it is compared to all the (tons) of chai I've bought. I used regular French vanilla and plain creamers because I wasn't sure how the amounts if sugar free would translate, but I used 1 1/2 C. of Splenda (only) and it came out perfectly. I also cut down on the cardamom (1/2 tsp.) because sometimes it seems pretty "bitey" to me, used 1/2 tsp. cloves (same reason), and added nutmeg. Great recipe, Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I have made this several times and given plenty of it away as holiday gifts. Nothing like it on a cold winters night. Suggest grinding 1/2c at a time in coffee grinder; faster than the food processor. Other reviews suggest too sweet, I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. I also add 1t nutmeg, 1t allspice and 1/4t white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I use Splenda white and some Splenda brown sugar. Makes it wonderful. It was already a great recipe. I use black pepper and all the other spices listed. Try some yourself. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeHegler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I just whipped up a batch of this using all of the spices referenced and it turned out great! I love chai tea but not the expense that comes with it at Panera or Starbucks or the calories. I made this with Splenda, as suggested by another reviewer, and Decaf instant tea. Low calorie and delicious! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very good Chai Tea, I substituted Splenda for the sugar as I am a diabetic, still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Duffield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
this is agreat recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Very delicious! It has a very distinct gingerbread taste, very yummy. A good drink to make around the holidays! I used all of the spices called for - even the nutmeg, allspice and white pepper... the only thing I changed was that I only added 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom instead of the full teaspoon - after smelling how strong it was, I could only bring myself to add half! And I'm very glad I did, the flavor was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have been using this recipe for 4 years now, its so easy and cost effective!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This turned out great!!! I like my chai very spicy so next time I will definitely add the nutmeg. I dont suggest using a vitamix- I did and found the mix got too hot and seemed to be cooking...Then i had to scrape and break pieces out of the bottom of the vitamix jug to get into my food processer to finish the job. It is very important for the mix to blended very finely otherwise the spices become kind of "bitty" or like chewy little bits at the end of the cup. I will always use this recipe! It is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I love this, I also made a caffenine free and low fat version for a friend who can't have caffeine or too much sugar, by using decaffinated tea and stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States