Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
We made this recipe and had to add more of the spices and tea to get it right to our liking. I am still not satisfied with what we did. We did a unsweetened tea in a jar. Also we had some while we were making it and I thought it was better the next day. We did not use a food processer on it either and I may just do that before I have my next cup of what we made. We did not use sugar but added a diet sweetener and they may have been the problem, I am not sure. I got hooked on this kind of tea we bought at a craft show and I just could not get over how good it is. I have never had this before. I only have a little left in that bag and can not find where to buy more of the already premix. I am going to try other mixes, like Tazo Chai tea, because I am really hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
...my new favorite morning drink!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I was a skeptic, but this is very tasty! I can see giving these as gifts and drinking one daily throughout the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Good base recipe for an instant Chai latte to send to my dirt poor sister at college! I'm not a big fan of those non-dairy coffee creamers, so I left them out. Instead, I did use the suggested vanilla-sugar mixture and just some extra powdered milk for creaminess; served with warm milk instead of water. 1 cup of sugar is plenty. I used black pepper instead of white because that's what I had on hand. Adjusted spices to my taste: less cloves, more ginger, cardamom, and pepper. It's still on the mild side. Maybe next time I'll add ground star anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I only made half a batch (because I never had chai tea before) But always wanted to. OMG!! This stuff is sooo good now I have to make a full batch(or 2). I drink it everyday the only thing is I didn't use the cardamom, wow the price"really". Anyway thanks so much for this recipe Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I really like this mix and it was easy to put together. I reduced the sugar to 2c and it is still a little sweet for my taste, but probably the perfect amount for giving as a gift since many people seem to like sweet tea. I ran out of ground cloves and didn't have ground cardamon, so I used my coffee grinder to grind whole cloves and cardamon seeds instead. It made the mix smell fantastic, but did leave a little more sediment in the cup than pre-ground spices would. I am going to try spicing it up even further with allspice and white pepper (maybe nutmeg... not a traditional chai spice, but then again neither is allspice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Amazing!! I cut the sugar as suggested by others. This is easy and so yummy. It is good. I mean, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
My friend had mentioned that she stopped drinking coffee, and she bought a mix of chocolate chai drink. She said it wasn't very good. That's when I decited to make this recipe! It was so expensive to purchase the ingredients, but worth it!! I also used all non dairy creamer because my friend is dairy free. Also coffee mate makes sweetened origional creamer, so I used only 1 cup of that , and 2 cups of original coffee creamer. No sugar also becsuse my friend also is eliminating sugar from her diet. This makes it very enjoyable, and all the spices come through perfectly! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I have been looking for quite some time for an affordable alternative to the pricey coffee house chai drinks I love so much, so I had really high hopes when I came across this recipe with all the glowing reviews. One taste was all I needed of this blend, unfortunately. I think the spices used are good, but the measurements were definitely off. I couldn't tell if it was the cloves or the cardamom, but either way it was just too overpowering and left a horrible taste in my mouth. Also, the 2 1/2 cups of sugar was way too much. I felt like I wasted a lot of ingredients making this recipe and do regret trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
A very good Chai mix! I've tried several different recipes and this one really hits the mark! For those who didn't add the cardamom because it's too expensive, that's a huge mistake, cardamom is an essential ingredient in Chai tea! So spend the extra bucks and you'll be greatly rewarded with an authentic tasting Chai tea mix. Try looking in the bulk spice section of farmers markets like Sprouts or Henry's to save quite a bit over grocery store prices. It's worth the extra effort! You can also find real vanilla powder (used the same as real liquid vanilla) in the same place if you want to substitute for the vanilla creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States