Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I try to avoid dairy, so I left out the milk powder and creamers and just blended the spices, tea, and sugar, and added it to a steamed cup of soy milk. It turned out really well! I'm not the biggest fan of ginger, so next time I'm going to use a little less ginger and a little more cardamom to add some spice. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My 4 kids loved this recipe! I substituted sugar in the raw for regular white sugar and added only half of the cardamon. Makes it and watch it disappear! Makes an awesome gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Next time I make this I won't use the French vanilla creamer and I'll cut the sugar way back. Too sweet for me but the spices were great. I hate instant tea, but you can't taste the "instant" in this at all. I added the nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I think this with extra spices is better than Oregon chai, and that stuff is pretty great! I didn't use non dairy creamer (that stuff is horrible)...I just substituted more nf milk powder and mixed 1/2 cornstarch and 1/2 sugar to make the 1 cup measure....I am in heaven....I am sending my mom and sister in law some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Almost everyone I know loves chai but hates the cost of buying it at a retail establishment. Plus, I wanted to be able to make a quick cup at home in the microwave and also give a mix for New Year gifts. I used all the suggested ingredients. I followed this recipe exactly, with the exception of reducing the sugar by one cup. The creamers already had sweetener added, and I don't like overly sweet beverages. Next time I will make this with Truvia, but since this batch is for gifts I used sugar. Also, I could not find instant tea mix that did not state it was for iced tea, and I assumed instant iced tea mix would work (without lemon or sugar added by the manufacturer). I realized as I mixed the ingredients that my blender would not hold all the ingredients, so I first poured the full amount into a large pitcher and shook it to try to distribute the ingredients evenly. Then I put half into the blender and blended on mix, followed by whip. I repeated this step with the other half, then poured both halves back into the big pitcher and shook it some more. I wanted to be sure the ingredients were mixed throughout. The results are a very fine powder that mixes well with hot water and tastes divine. I figure each cup costs about 30 cents to make, maybe less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very good, best when made with milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This Chai Tea mix has become a staple in our household! Quick, convenient, and having the perfect blend of spices......it has become our favorite. I'm sure this recipe will become yours as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love chai tea and this recipe didn't disappoint. It has wonderful creamy milk and vanilla flavor added to the spices which makes this tea very soothing. When purchasing the powdered nondairy creamer I noticed that the label said it was sweetened already. This means the recipe didn't require as much sugar. When making a second batch I didn't even bother with the sugar and it still turned out great. Next time I will leave out the dry milk and try almond milk for my guests who are dairy allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I really like this recipe. I doubled the batch, so i'm very relieved. I may add a little extra tea for my personal drinks, but i think everyone will love this tea. Also, i'm happy to have a use for my jar of cardamom. It's very expensive and it normally goes to waste because i can't find a small jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This mix is very sweet, too sweet, and not very tea flavored. I do not think I would make this again if I had a craving for real chia tea. It is more just a drink mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States