Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This worked great. I followed the recipe to the letter, following the Footnoted instructions for omitting the Vanilla non-dairy creamer. To me, this tasted quite similar to the Chai tea I've had many times at Indian restaurants. I was way too lazy to get the food processor down and put it together, so I used my blender. It's true that it was a little bit messy - had to open it up over the sink after blending - but cleanup was still pretty easy. It worked like a dream - I had a fine powder after two minutes of blending. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherN
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
too sweet,no other taste than sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pris22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was a good recipe, although I would increase the actual Instant Tea next time just for my own taste. I put it in jars and gave it as gifts for the holidays. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this mix!! I go through it like there's no tomorrow!! I do add in the optional spices, but I double the amounts. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
We agree that this is far better than the Starbucks version. The only change we made was to up the tea measurement to 2 cups. Next time we may try adding the additional spices. Excellent recipe, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Phoenix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this for my first time, and I only review based on the ACTUAL recipe. It was good, but even for someone with a sweet tooth like me (bring on the buttercream icing!!), it was a bit sweet. I did make the recipe with the suggested extra spices. I also could not find instant tea (where do you find that stuff in Canada????), so I had to make regular black tea and added the mix to that. I will definitely make this again, but for sure will cut back on the sugar. I like more spice than sweet in my chai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great starter recipe that you can tweak to your own liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
WOW! Made according to the original adding in the white pepper and nutmeg. Absolutely delicious! Purchased the ground cardamom from the bins at Winco and it was only 25 cents. Also purchased the powdered milk and creamer from the bins which kept the cost down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
As I write this review, I am sipping a delicious cup of this wonderful drink, thrilled at how much money this is going to save me. I added the extra spices, only used 1 1/2 cups sugar, and skipped the cardamom and pepper. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This is awesome! I could only find decaf instant tea and even though I put everything through a coffee grinder I still had residue, but I don't care; it was still awesome. I halved the sugar (used Ideal) and upped the spices half again except for the cloves, allspice, nutmeg and pepper. It was perfect! Thank you, Jo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHINASMOM2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States