Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
very good & also pricey to make 1st time. I had to buy most of the ingredients because I only had ground cinnamon & sugar. The g cardamon was $14.69. G cloves $8.79. The total spent on all other ingredients totaled $22.94. So, $46.42 + sugar/cin costs. The total made filled 1 qt and 1 pint mason jar. I have ingredients left over to make another batch[es] sometime soon. I haven't broken down what it will cost per batch yet. I add 3 T to 2 cups of boiling water and it tastes just like the coffee shop fare. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
THANK YOU! I love Oregon Chai, but I just can't afford to "treat" myself. This mix is amazing! I used half of the amount of sugar suggested and I used vanilla extract (see footnote of recipe). It is delicious! THANK YOU, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I'm glad I found this recipe. We really like it, and it's less expensive than the discs I've bought for our coffee maker. I did not have cardamom so did not add it, but followed the recipe otherwise. I was skeptical about the food processor step but after realized how important it was. 7/7/12 update- I made this with hot water, let it cool a little, added ice and had a great iced chai tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is awesome. I don't put the creamers in, but follow the rest of the recipe as written. When I serve the tea, I mix Heavy Whipping Cream in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Too sweet, terrible afte-rtaste. I made this with coffeemate, and whole milk powder, as well as steeped assam black tea (There are no instant tea powders in Canada, and i wouldn't trust the processing its been through either). Also, sugar is something you can always add afterwards, though really it should be sweetened with honey as that's healthier. If I were to make it again, i would try finding the unprocessed versions of all these elements and use my coffee grinder. The ginger you could grind after you've dried slices of it in the toaster oven. Understandably some people don't have the time but sometimes it is just more worth it to not take shortcuts- especially for a chai mix that can be quickly reconstituted at any later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made the above recipe but didn't use instant tea (used a regular Darjeeling tea bag and steeped), and I added dried 1 tsp orange peel, 1tsp white pepper, and 1tsp allspice and cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 cups before blending in a food processor. I agree that a coffee grinder is a better idea. Only thing I will do differently is cut down the creamer; I like a more full bodied tea (almost like coffee!) and this was too blond for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Was great!! But, I added more nutmeg and ginger for more spiciness!!! Super yummy and thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. My first cup seemed a little rich, but it's growing on me. It's a very inexpensive substitute for the commercial brand I drink and I'm looking forward to tweaking my next batch to my own tastes. And I'll definitely try the spicier variation in the heading at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This recipe is great, thank you for sharing it! Instead of ground ginger, I always use fresh ginger. Martha El Hadidi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes of all times. I put it in a jar during the holidays and give it as my favorite present! I usually add more ginger powder and a pinch of fine white pepper for a little tingle on the tip of my tongue. I also bought a small frother and add nonfat milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States