Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
FYI: You can buy cardonmen at World Market for $3.99 a bottle. I always like to make things exactly as the recipe calls the first time. So, I did. I agree: as is, it's just too sweet for me. I have enough for a second batch...will make that minus a ton of sugar and mix it with the first batch...I bet it will be fine and way yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My daughter and I just tasted this, admittedly skeptical how good it would be. Wow. Awesome. As good as anything I've gotten from any number of coffee shops. I made the recipe exactly as listed, grinding in small batches in a coffee grinder to get it powdery. We added 2 heaping tablespoons to a mug of hot milk and it tastes great. My daughter is going to give some to her friend, who is a chai fanatic, as a Christmas present. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I ended up using 3 c. sugar total in a triple batch and that was perfect. (I used 2 1/2 c. in the first batch and that was way too sweet, so I made more batchez to make it better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana Cain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baldwin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Good recipe, I made it as Christmas gifts. Suggestion for the spices: go to an Indian store in your town, you'll find cardamon very cheap, and also the "real" chai tea mix they use in India (spices only). I used their mix, plus the dry milk and creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Love this chai mix! I omitted 1/2 c. of the sugar since I generally like things a little less sweet, and I found it to be just perfect for me. My Magic Bullet did a great job of making it powdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Clearly the reviews on this recipe speak for itself. I make it as directed, adding the allspice but not the nutmeg or pepper. I also use 1.5 cups white sugar and 1 cup Splenda. I have made this several times, and once made the dreadful mistake of accidentally using vanilla caramel creamer instead of the french vanilla - yuck! So take my advice and make sure you grab the right bottle :) Hopefully the people I'm giving it to for Christmas will love it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I'm drinking my first mug now and LOVE it. The only thing I changed was to use only 2 cups sugar. I know the cardomon is expensive. It cost me about $11 for the pods but I only used about 1/4 of them. I will be using this for gifts this holiday. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
We sub 2T pumpkin pie spice for the spices. It was more economical than purchasing the ground ginger, cloves, and cardamom separately. We also tried making it with hot milk instead of water and it is very rich and wonderful. This has been part of our Christmas tradition for the past several years, and we make a 4x batch to give as gifts. When the weather turns cold, the kids always ask "when are we going to make that chai mix?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great recipe and easy to personalize. Any combo of a few of the spices seems to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States