Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This comes very close to the expensive Chai mixes I have found in gourmet coffee shops. I have decreased the sugar by 1/3, to just one cup and in the future I will probably eliminate the french vanilla creamer and just add powdered vanilla ( vanilin). And this recipe, though, makes a lot more than 16 servings when all ingredients are used. More like 26. Very tasty, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Alright, not quite what I was hoping for, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This recipe is so wonderful! It tastes just like the mix found in stores (maybe even a little better), is much more cost-effective, and is so easy to make. I cut the sugar down a third, though. It was a little sweet for my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I LOVE this mix. It is better than the Tazo Chai I tried at our local Starbucks. Next time I'll leave out the cloves, because cloves tend to overpower the taste. I added 1/2 t. white pepper and 1 t. allspice. I also used decaffienated tea. I didn't add the cardomom because it was too expensive. My husband and I love a cup made with skim milk each evening. I gave jars to my girlfriends and received rave reviews and recipe requests from each of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Oh my gosh is this stuff great. My husband even likes it and he doesn't like tea! I plan to pack it in jelly jars and give as christmas gifts! Thank you soooo much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Eh. It was okay, it's just easier and much less time-consuming to make it traditionally by adding boiled milk to the sweetend tea mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Way too sweet. Good flavor other than that. I scaled it down to one serving to try it out, and it made enough for 2 servings, so the whole batch would probably make 32. I'm going to start with half the sugar, and then add more to taste next time. Also, I used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separate spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
The mix turned out great. It taste very good. People loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROJAMIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
The best! I first bought some chai tea mix at a coffee shop, and then searched everywhere for a recipe. This recipe matches the taste perfectly (except I cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups). Don't be put off by the expense of the cardamom -- it's worth it. If using a blender, mix ingredients with a fork first, then blend only about a cup and a half at a time. Also, be sure to blend it really well (because the spices can get kind of chunky in your drink).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I made this last night and it was so easy and it tastes wonderful. I was skeptical and I scalled it down to one to try it. I also tried the Shemakes Chai Tea and this one was much better. I didn't use the cardamom (the store didn't have ground). I also added the recommended white pepper and 1 teaspoon of apple pie spice (I was out of allspice). This is such a good recipe. Be sure to do the blender/food processor step it is very important (the single serving size I skipped the blending and the end result was not near as appealing). One other thing: I added 1 T. vanilla sugar to this and it really spiked the flavor. Thanks again for sharing this gift idea. I think I'm now hooked because I'm having some as I type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States